January 9, 2020

Carpenter, Dingler Named Captains for 2020


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | 2020 Roster | 2020 Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio Infielder Matt Carpenter and catcher Dillon Dingler have been named captains of the 2020 Ohio State baseball team, head coach Greg Beals announced Thursday. The captains, as selected by their teammates, have combined to appear in 169 career games.

“Both Carp and Ding have the pulse of the locker room,” Beals said. “They each have a great feel for the game and they know how to win. Both are well-deserving of their roles as captain.”

Carpenter, a fifth-year senior, has appeared in 67 games, including 41 starts as a redshirt junior a season ago. A native of Aurora, Ohio, Carpenter hit .257 with eight doubles, two triples 25 runs scored and 15 RBI as the Buckeyes won the Big Ten Tournament and advanced to an NCAA Regional in Nashville in 2019. Carpenter is a four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

“Matt’s body of work here at Ohio State screams ‘student-athlete’ and what it means to be a Buckeye,” Beals added. “Matt has worked really hard to get where he is on the field and I know his teammates respect that as much as we do on the coaching staff.”

Dingler, selected a team captain as a sophomore last season, was named second team All-Big Ten and earned Big Ten All-Tournament team recognition in 2019 after being selected to the Big Ten All-Freshman team in 2018. The North Canton, Ohio, native as appeared in 102 career games, including 88 starts, totaling 17 doubles, three triples, seven home runs, 62 runs scored and 36 RBI in two seasons. The backstop is a two-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and a 2019 Academic All-Big Ten selection.

“Dillon returns for his second year as captain,” Beals said. “Dillon has great leadership skills, primarily by example, which are especially critical at the catching position. I have said it before, he has ‘dude factor’ which has earned his teammates’ respect.”

The Buckeyes open the 2020 campaign against St. Joseph’s at 1 p.m. Feb. 14 in Port Charlotte, Fla.