Columbus, Ohio – Head coach Geoff Carlston has been named one of three head coaches for the U.S. Women’s National A2 Program along with LSU’s Fran Flory and Dayton’s Kelly Sheffield. The U.S. Women’s National A2 Program will take place in Dallas, Texas, from May 23 through June 1. A total of 36 athletes will be invited to participate in the program, which will include training and competition in the 2011 USA Volleyball Open National Championships in the Open Division from May 28-31. The 36 players will be divided into three 12-player rosters for the USA Volleyball Open National Championships. USA Volleyball considers the event as the national championship for the sport of volleyball in the United States.

Carlston will enter his fourth season as head coach of the Buckeyes next fall with a record of 61-42. His 11-year coaching record stands at 254-106. In the 2010 season, Carlston guided the program to a 24-12 overall record and a 10-10 Big Ten Conference record, finishing sixth. For the second consecutive season, the Buckeyes were an at-large selection to the NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship.

Ohio State began spring practice this week and will host the Buckeye Spring Bash Saturday with Eastern Michigan, Wright State, Kent State, Cleveland State and West Virginia. The Bash will be played in St. John Arena on two courts. Each match will be two sets to 25 points.

Buckeye Spring Bash Schedule

9 a.m.                   Ohio State vs. Eastern Michigan                       Wright State vs. Kent State
10 a.m.                 Eastern Michigan vs. Cleveland State                West Virginia vs. Wright State
11 a.m.                 Ohio State vs. Cleveland State                          Kent State vs. West Virginia
12:30 p.m.           Ohio State vs. West Virginia                            Wright State vs. Eastern Michigan
1:30 p.m.             Ohio State vs. Kent State                                 Wright State vs. Cleveland State
2:30 p.m.             Cleveland State vs. West Virginia                      Kent State vs. Eastern Michigan

Ohio State continues spring competition April 9 against Kentucky at the Columbus Convention Center. The Buckeyes play at Dayton with Ohio University April 16 and compete in the Cincinnati Tournament April 23.