April 25, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Six members of the 2013 Ohio State football team will be recognized as the official team captains for the 12-win season that included a record-setting winning streak, the program’s initial appearance in the Big Ten championship game and an invitation to the Discover Orange Bowl. The captains are:

  • Senior left tackle Jack Mewhort, who will graduate next week with his degree in consumer and family financial services;
  • Senior safety C.J. Barnett, who graduated last December with a degree in sociology and criminology;
  • Senior center Corey Linsley, who graduated last December with a degree in economics;
  • Senior quarterback Kenny Guiton, who graduated last December with a degree in family resource management;
  • Senior wide receiver Corey Brown, who is working on his degree in criminology; and
  • Senior safety Christian Bryant, who is nearing completion of his degree in sociology.

The six were among a group of eight who served as Ohio State game captains for the 2013 season. Coach Urban Meyer said at the time that a decision would be made following the season as to who would be recognized as the season’s official team captains.

Ohio State has recognized 255 players as a team captain in its first 124 years of football with only eight of those individuals having served as a team captain more than once.

Two-time Ohio State Team Captains
Richard T. Ellis – 1891-92
Archie Griffin – 1974-75
Glen Cobb – 1981-82
Thomas “Pepper” Johnson – 1984-85
Steve Bellisari – 2000-01
Joe Cooper – 2000-01
James Laurinaitis – 2007-08
John Simon – 2011-12

A total of 16 former Ohio State team captains are currently on NFL team rosters: Mike Nugent (team captain in 2004; Cincinnati), A.J. Hawk (2005; Green Bay), Nick Mangold (2005; New York Jets), Rob Sims (2005; Detroit), James Laurinaitis (2007-08; St. Louis), Malcolm Jenkins (2008; Philadelphia), Kurt Coleman (2009; Minnesota), Austin Spitler (2009; Miami), Doug Worthington (2009; Washington), Bryant Browning (2010; Pittsburgh), Cam Heyward (2010; Pittsburgh), Dane Sanzenbacher (2010; Cincinnati), Mike Brewster (2011; Jacksonville), Dan Herron (2011; Cincinnati), John Simon (2011-12; Baltimore) and Zach Boren (2012; San Diego).