November 21, 2016

Cameron Johnston Named a Ray Guy Award Finalist


Nov. 21, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State senior punter Cameron Johnston has been named one of three finalists for the 2016 Ray Guy Award by the Augusta Sports Council. This is the first time he has been a finalist for the award after being a semifinalist the past three years.

Johnston leads the Big Ten and ranks fifth nationally with a 46.3-yard average and his punts, coupled with Ohio State’s outstanding punt coverage unit, has Ohio State ranked fifth nationally in net punting with a 42.1-yard average. He has led the Big Ten in punting three straight years and he’s nearly five yards ahead of the Big Ten’s No. 2 punter. Johnston, from Geelong, Australia, has punted 43 times this season, with 13 punts traveling at least 50 yards and 21 downed inside the 20. He booted a season-long 70-yarder in the overtime win at Wisconsin. He also handles the holder duties on PAT’s and field goals.

He is also on the cusp of setting a school single-season record, which is held by Tom Tupa (47.1 average in 1984) and he is just three-tenths of a yard behind Andy Groom’s career punting average record of 45.0 yards set from 2001-02. Johnston’s career average is 44.7.

Johnston was the Ray Guy national punter of the week after his good day of punting against the No. 14 Oklahoma Sooners. All five of his punts against the Sooners were downed inside the 20 yard line while he averaged 50.6 yards per kick. Oklahoma never started a drive inside of Ohio State territory for the game, and the Sooners were forced to start at their own 11, 14, 12, 10 and 1 yard lines after Johnston’s punts.

Johnston graduated from Ohio State in three years with his degree in sport industry.

B.J. Sander is the only Buckeye to win the award in 2003.

The finalists were selected by a national voting body of Football Bowling Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners. The voters will cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner. The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to their team. Particular emphasis was placed on net average, percent inside the 20, percent on punts not returned, number of punts and gross average. The 2016 Ray Guy Award recipient will be announced live December 8 at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN in Atlanta, Georgia.

2016 Ray Guy Award Finalists:
Michael Dickson (So.), University of Texas
Cameron Johnston (Sr.), Ohio State University
Mitch Wishnowsky (So.), University of Utah

Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC enriches the quality and economic well-being for the Augusta metropolitan area by supporting and attracting sporting activities. To learn more visit,

Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College/Pro Football Hall of Fame Inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is number of punts, gross average, net average, percent inside the 20 and percent not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team’s success. To learn more, visit