Oct. 22, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Three Ohio State Buckeye football greats – RB Keith Byars, LB Tom Cousineau and FB Jim Otis – and former coach Jim Tressel are each on the 2015 College Football Hall of Fame ballot for possible induction. The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today the names on the 2015 ballot, including 75 players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 87 players and 25 coaches from the divisional ranks.

The announcement of the 2015 class, including the players and coaches from both the Football Bowl Division and the divisional ranks, will be made Friday, Jan. 9 at the media hotel in close proximity to AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas and the site of the Jan. 12 College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship Game.

Byars (1982-85), from Dayton, Ohio, was a unanimous first-team All-American and Heisman Trophy runner-up who led the nation in rushing (1,764), all-purpose yards (2,441) and scoring (144) in 1984. He was the 1984 Big Ten MVP and was a two-time All-Big Ten selection. He ranks fifth all-time at Ohio State with 4,369 career all-purpose yards and 3,200 career rushing yards.

Cousineau (1975-78), from Fairview Park, Ohio, was a two-time consensus first-team All-American and three-time All-Big Ten performer. He recorded 572 career tackles, ranking second all-time in OSU history, and he held nine school records at career’s end. Cousineau was the first Buckeye to be selected No. 1 in the NFL Draft when Buffalo chose him with its first pick in 1979.

Otis (1967-69), from Celina, Ohio, was named a consensus first-team All-American in 1969 and was a member of Ohio State’s 1968 national championship team. He was also named first-team All-Big Ten Conference in 1969 and led the Buckeyes to two Big Ten titles, in 1968 and 1969. Ohio State’s rushing leader for three consecutive years, Otis finished his career with 2,542 rushing yards and 34 touchdowns.

Tressel is one of 25 coaches on the divisional ballot. He was head coach at Youngstown State from 1986-2000 before coaching the Buckeyes from 2001-10. He led his YSU and Ohio State teams to nine national title game appearances, winning four FCS championships with Youngstown State and one BCS championship with Ohio State. He also directed the Buckeyes to six Big Ten Conference championships and coached 73 first-team All-Americans during his career. He is a two-time Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year, winning one at the FBS and one at the FCS level.

Ohio State has had 24 players inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame previously, including Orlando Pace this past year, and 10 former coaches.

Ohio State Buckeyes in the National Football Foundation & College FB Hall of Fame

Chic Harley Halfback 1916-17, 19 1951
G. Stinchcomb Halfback 1917-20 1973
Wes Fesler End 1928-30 1954
Gomer Jones Center 1934-35 1978
Gust Zarnas Guard 1935-37 1975
Bill Willis Tackle 1942-44 1971
Les Horvath Quarterback 1940-42, 44 1969
Warren Amling Guard/Tackle 1944-46 1984
Jim Daniel Tackle 1939-41 1977
Vic Janowicz Halfback 1949-51 1976
Howard Cassady Halfback 1952-55 1979
Jim Parker Guard 1954-56 1974
A.Thomas Guard 1955-57 1989
Archie Griffin Tailback 1972-75 1986
Jim Stillwagon Middle Guard 1968-70 1991
Bob Ferguson Fullback 1959-61 1996
Randy Gradishar Linebacker 1971-73 1998
John Hicks Tackle 1970, ’72-73 2001
Jack Tatum Defensive Back 1968-70 2004
Jim Houston End 1957-58 2005
Rex Kern Quarterback 1968-70 2007
Chris Spielman Linebacker 1984-87 2009
Eddie George Running Back 1992-95 2012
Orlando Pace Left Tackle 1994-96 2014
Howard Jones Head Coach 1910 1951
John Wilce Head Coach 1913-28 1954
Francis Schmidt Head Coach 1934-40 1971
Ernie Godfrey Assistant Coach 1929-61 1972
Woody Hayes Head Coach 1951-78 1983
Sid Gillman Assistant Coach 1941 1989
Doyt Perry Assistant Coach 1951-54 1988
Earle Bruce Head Coach 1979-1987 2002
Lou Holtz Assistant Coach 1968 2008
John Cooper Head Coach 1988-2000 2008