ATLANTA (Nov. 16, 2010) – Two Ohio State players, junior William Buford and freshman Jared Sullinger, were named to the watch list for the annual Naismith Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. This year’s diverse list
includes the top men’s college basketball players from 44 schools around the country.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on
player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2010-11 college basketball season.
The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T* will be awarded at the 2011 NCAA Men’s Final Four in Houston.
“This year’s watch list features an incredible array of talent from across the country, which will create a
tremendous challenge for our voting academy in determining the winner of the most prestigious trophy
in college basketball,” said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director.

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining
the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging**, fan voting will account for 25 percent
of all of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award.

In February, during CBS’ coverage of college basketball, the “AT&T at the Half” segment will feature a
Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention for the award.

“AT&T is excited to watch the performances of these student-athletes in the coming season, and we look
forward to following their successes,” said Jason Simpson, executive director, AT&T Corporate
Sponsorships. “At AT&T, we’re all about connecting people to what matters most to them, so we’re proud
to continue our relationship with the Naismith Trophy and give basketball fans a say in determining the
next Men’s College Player of the Year.”

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30
players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the
four finalists.

Other notable Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year winners include Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael
Jordan, Patrick Ewing and David Robinson. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award
presented annually to college basketball’s player of the year.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s
player of the year. For more information, visit

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of
basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting.
The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every
year since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the
inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983.

The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the
Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach
of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and
contribution to the game.