February 20, 2020

Buckeyes Win Two Big Ten Titles and Finish Day Two in First Place



Thursday Prelim Results | Final Results | 1-Meter Results | Twitter

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The Ohio State women’s swimming and diving team collected its first two individual medals on Thursday evening in Iowa City, Iowa to put the Buckeyes in sole possession of first place after day two of the Big Ten Championships. Senior Kathrin Demler started the evening with a Big Ten Championship in the 500 Freestyle and a new school record. Freshman Mackenzie Crawford won her first title and the Buckeyes’ first Big Ten Championship win on the 1-Meter springboard since 2012.

After the day’s events, Ohio State gains sole possession of first place with an 83 point lead over Michigan.

Top Team Scores

  1. Ohio State – 561
  2. Michigan – 478
  3. Indiana – 338
  4. Wisconsin – 257
  5. Northwestern – 242
Ohio State Buckeyes

500 Freestyle

  • Kathrin Demler claimed the Big Ten Championship in the 500 Freestyle, touching the wall first with a new school record of 4:37.04. This is the first Ohio State win in the event since 1995.
  • Molly Kowal touched fifth in the A Final while Sally Tafuto finished seventh. The Buckeyes scored 80 points from the A Final and an additional 38 points from the B and C Final finishes.
  • Nicole Fye and Natalia Jaspeado finished 7-8 in the B Final with just .22 separating their times.
  • Georgia White touched first in the C Final with a time of 4:43.84. She was followed by Georgia Mosher who finished third in the C Final.

200 IM

  • The Buckeyes went 5-6-7 on the podium in the A Final of the 200 IM with Kristen Romano (1:57.29) leading the way. Romano, Josie Panitz and Hanna Gresser picked up 72 combined points.
  • Katie Trace swam in the C Final and finished third with a time of 1:58.17. She tallied another 16 points for the Buckeyes.

50 Free

  • Junior Freya Rayner finished with a bronze medal in the 50 free, clocking a time of 21.85, .55 seconds behind the first place finisher from Michigan. Taylor Petrak claimed fifth in the A Final.
  • In the B Final, Amy Fulmer and Lucija Jurkovic Perisa finished second and third, respectively, while Amanda Paultsis placed seventh.
  • Rebekah Bradley touched sixth in the C Final. Overall, the Buckeyes tallied an even 100 team points in the event.

400 Medley Relay

  • In the last event of the evening, the relay squad of Rebekah Bradley, Hanna Gresser, Kathrin Demler and Freya Rayner finished fourth with a time of 3:31.98 and claimed another 52 team points.

1-Meter Diving

  • Freshman Mackenzie Crawford claimed the Big Ten Championship on the 1-Meter springboard with a score of 320.65 after six dives. She is the first OSU diver to win the event since 2012.
  • Lexie Barker finished seventh in the event with a score of 242.15.
  • Ohio State finished the A finals with 55 team points and an additional 36 from a first and third place finish from Jackie Brenn and Genevieve Angerame in the B Final.
Ohio State Buckeyes

Scoring Format

A Final Scoring: 32-28-27-26-25-24-23-22

B Final Scoring: 20-17-16-15-14-13-12-11

C Final Scoring: 9-7-6-5-4-3-2-1

Relay Scoring: 64-56-54-52-48-46-44-40-34-32-30-28

500 Freestyle

  1. Kathrin Demler (4:37.04)
  2. Molly Kowal (4:39.35)
  3. Sally Tafuto (4:41.20)
  4. Nicole Fye (4:44.82)
  5. Natalia Jaspeado (4:45.04)
  6. Georgia White (4:43.84)
  7. Georgia Mosher (4:45.52)

200 IM

  1. Kristen Romano (1:57.29)
  2. Josie Panitz (1:57.32)
  3. Hanna Gresser (1:57.57)
  4. Katie Trace (1:58.17)

50 Freestyle

  1. Freya Rayner (21.85)
  2. Taylor Petrak (22.31)
  3. Amy Fulmer (22.27)
  4. Lucija Jurkovic-Perisa (22.42)
  5. Amanda Palutsis (22.90)
  6. Rebekah Bradley (22.89)

400 Medley Relay

  1. Rebekah Bradley, Hanna Gresser, Kathrin Demler, Freya Rayner (3:31.98)


  1. Mackenzie Crawford (320.65)
  2. Lexie Barker (242.15)
  3. Jackie Brenn (272.55)
  4. Genevieve Angerame (268.50)

Up Next

Competition resumes tomorrow with a preliminary session beginning at 11 a.m. at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City. Events will include the 100 yard butterfly, 400 yard IM, 200 yard freestyle, 100 yard breaststroke, 100 yard backstroke, 200 yard freestyle relay and three-meter diving.