April 21, 2017

Buckeyes Win Outright B1G Title, Best NW 6-1


April 21, 2017


Results (PDF)
2016-17 Schedule
2016-17 Stats

EVANSTON, Ill. – The No. 2 Ohio State men’s tennis team continued its undefeated run through conference play as it bested No. 21 Northwestern 6-1 on Friday evening in Evanston.

The win was the ninth-straight for the Buckeyes who have clinched the outright Big Ten championship. They are 10-0 in conference play and will look to complete their second-straight undefeated Big Ten season on Sunday at Illinois.

Ohio State also becomes just the seventh program in any sport in Big Ten history to win 12 or more straight conference crowns.

In the doubles matches, Mikael Torpegaard and Herkko Pollanen got the first break to go up 3-2 on court one on Konrad Zieba and Sam Shropshire. Shortly after, JJ Wolf and Hunter Tubert took three-straight games from Chris Ephron and Michael Lorenzini on court three to take a 5-2 lead. Both Buckeye teams would go on to win their matches and secure the doubles point. Wolf and Tubert won 6-3 and Torpegaard and Pollanen took a 6-4 decision. In the remaining match, Martin Joyce and Hugo Di Feo were on serve on court two.

Wolf recorded his best singles win of the season as he took down No. 65 Zieba on court two 6-4, 6-2 to put the Buckeyes ahead 2-0. This was Wolf’s third win over a ranked opponent this season and his highest ranked victory.

Torpegaard also continued his impressive season with a dominating 6-4, 6-0 victory over No. 39 Kirchheimer who is the defending ITA Midwest Singles Champion. The win improves Torpegaard to 24-0 this spring at the No. 1 spot.

Fittingly, the team’s lone senior in Pollanen clinched the victory with his 6-1, 6-4 win over Jason Seidman on court six. After losing back-to-back matches on the spring break Texas road swing, the Finland native has won seven-straight matches and has dropped just one set during the run.

Playing out the remaining matches, Joyce pushed the score to 5-0 with a solid 6-4, 7-5 win over Ben Vandixhorn on court five. That was Joyce’s 16th singles win of the season.

The Wildcats got on the board as Dominik Stary held on for a three-set win over Buckeye redshirt-freshman Kyle Seelig 6-4, 5-7, 1-0 (9) on court four.

The final match was a good one between Di Feo and Shropshire. The two battled back and forth in the first set which was eventually won by Shropshire in a tiebreak. The second set also went to a tiebreaker and this time, Di Feo came out on top sending the match to a super-breaker. Di Feo would then clinch his 20th dual match win of the season with a 10-7 win in the decider.

The Buckeyes will head down the road to Urbana, Ill., to take on Illinois on Sunday afternoon in the regular season finale. OSU won both meetings between the two teams last season. That match is scheduled to start at 1 p.m. ET.

1. #1 Mikael Torpegaard, OSU def. #39 Strong Kirchheimer, NW 6-4, 6-0
2. #75 JJ Wolf, OSU def. #65 Konrad Zieba, NW 6-4, 6-2
3. #8 Hugo Di Feo, OSU def. Sam Shropshire, NW 6-7 (5), 7-6 (3), 1-0 (7)
4. Dominik Stary, NW def. Kyle Seelig, OSU 6-4, 5-7, 1-0 (9)
5. Martin Joyce, OSU def. Ben Vandixhorn, NW 6-4, 7-5
6. #120 Herkko Pollanen, OSU def. Jason Seidman, NW 6-1, 6-4

1. #13 Mikael Torpegaard/Herkko Pollanen, OSU def. #68 Konrad Zieba/Sam Shropshire, NW 6-4
2. #27 Martin Joyce/Hugo Di Feo, OSU vs. Strong Kirchheimer/Dominik Stary, NW 3-4 unfinished
3. JJ Wolf/Hunter Tubert, OSU def. Chris Ephron/Michael Lorenzini, NW 6-3

Match Notes
Order of finish: Doubles 3,1 / Singles 2,1,6,5,4,3
Official: John Coleman, Time: 2:54, Att.-421