February 23, 2018

Buckeyes Travel to Arizona for Westbrook Spring Invitational


Feb. 23, 2018

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram | 2017-18 Stats

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s golf team hits the road to Peoria, Ariz., for the Westbrook Spring Invitational hosted by Wisconsin Sunday and Monday at Westbrook Village Golf Club. The 15-team tournament opens with 36 holes played Sunday followed by 18 holes Monday.

Name: Westbrook Spring Invitational
Live Scoring: BirdieFire.com
Course: Westbrook Village Golf Club (Peoria, Ariz.)
Yardage: 6,252 yards – Par 72
Format: Play 5, count 4
Schedule of Play:
Sunday, Feb. 26 (36 holes beginning with shotgun start at 8:30 a.m.)
Monday, Feb. 17 (18 holes beginning at 8:30 a.m.)
*All times local
Field (15 teams): *Golfstat Top 25 Collegiate Rankings listed
Delaware, No. 15 Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kansas State, Nebraska, Notre Dame, Ohio State, No. 17 Oklahoma, Oregon, Oregon State, UC Davis, Washington State, Wisconsin


1. Jaclyn Lee | Jr.
2. Alex Wright| So.
3. Adeena Shears | So.
4. Niki Schroeder | Jr.
5. Rio Watanabe | Sr.
Ind. Alanis Sakuma | Fr.

Weather Channel is forecasting highs in the mid- to upper-60s with sunny skies Sunday and Monday.

Ohio State opened its spring schedule with a 17th-place finish at the Northrop Grumman Regional Challenge at Palos Verdes Golf Club in Palos Verdes Estates, Calif., Feb. 11-13. Jaclyn Lee was the top Buckeye performer, climbing 20 spots on the final day to finish the tournament in a tie for 30th at 10-over par.

Jaclyn Lee was named Big Ten Golfer of the Week, the conference office announced Sept. 20. The award is the first Big Ten weekly honor of Lee’s career and the first for a Buckeye since Jessica Porvasnik earned the award March 15.

Lee earned stroke play co-medalist honors at the East and West Match Play Challenge at University Ridge Golf Course in Verona, Wis. The Calgary, Alberta, native tied Oregon’s Kathleen Scavo after posting a 7-under 70-67 through 36 holes of stroke play. Lee then went 2-0 in match play, topping Iowa State’s Alanna Campbell, 2&1, and Oregon’s Alexis Phadungmartvorakul, 1-up, to help the Buckeyes to a third-place finish in the event.

Buckeye head coach Therese Hession is in her 27th season in Columbus. Hession has led the Buckeyes to 24 NCAA Regionals, 16 NCAA Championships appearances and 10 Big Ten championships in her 26 seasons. The seven-time Big Ten Coach of the Year guided the Buckeyes to an appearance in the NCAA quarterfinals last season.

In August, Hession was named a coach for the United States team at the 2018 Arnold Palmer Cup, where she’ll coach alongside Oklahoma’s Ryan Hybl for the United States while Herb Page of Kent State and Canada and Anne Walker of Stanford and Scotland will lead the international side. The event, which will be held at Evian Resort Golf Club July 6-8, is a Ryder Cup-style competition that will be the first played under the expanded format to include men’s and women’s collegiate golfers.

In addition, Stacy Snider Olson enters her second season as an assistant on the Ohio State coaching staff. Snider, who has five years of Division I head coaching experience, was a two-time All-Big Ten selection at Michigan State (2001, 2002) and former professional golfer.

Former Buckeye Meg Mallon was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame during a ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in New York Sept. 26. Mallon joined the World Golf Hall of Fame alongside Davis Love III, Lorena Ochoa, Ian Woosnam and Henry Longhurst.

Mallon spent 23 years on the LPGA Tour, winning 18 titles, including four Majors. She won the LPGA Championship and the U.S. Women’s Open in a breakout season in 1991 before adding a du Maurier Classic title in 2000 and her second U.S. Women’s Open Championship in 2004. Mallon played on eight consecutive U.S. Solheim Cup teams from 1992 to 2005 and was named captain of the U.S. team in 2013. The Natick, Mass., native was named one of the LPGA’s Top 50 players and teachers in 2000 and retired from the tour in 2010.

During her time at Ohio State, Mallon was a four-year letterwinner from 1982-1985 and a two-time first team All-Big Ten selection in 1984 and 1985. She won the 1983 Michigan Amateur Championship while at Ohio State and helped lead the Buckeyes to three Big Ten titles in 1983, 1984 and 1985. She was voted to the Ohio State University Athletics Hall of Fame in 1996.