Manning named Athlete of the Year and Athlete of the Championships; Dennis earns Coach of the Year honors

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Two days removed from the first Big Ten title in program history, accolades continue to roll in for the 15th-ranked Ohio State women’s track and field team.

Junior All-American Christina Manning was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year and Athlete of the Championships after capturing the conference title in the 60m hurdles and runner-up finishes in the 60m dash and 200m dashes, recording personal best times in both the hurdles (8.01) and 60m (7.29) in the process. Manning is only the second Buckeye to win Athlete of the Year honors -former NCAA champion Donica Merriman being the other – and the third Buckeye, along with Merriman and Bridgette Tate, to earn Athlete of the Championship recognition.

Fifth-year head coach Karen Dennis was elected Coach of the Year by her peers after guiding the Buckeyes to the top of the Big Ten for the first time. Under her guidance, the Scarlet and Gray captured a total of two individual titles, five silver medals and 16 Top 5 finishes at the championship meet.

Joining Manning as a First Team All-Big Ten performer was junior Madison McNary, who earned the first Big Ten title of her Buckeye career with a win in the 60m dash. The University of Florida transfer set a school record in the process, crossing the finish line in 7.27 seconds to pull off a shocking upset of 13-time Big Ten champion and All-American Shavon Greaves of Penn State. McNary was also recognized as the Ohio State recipient of the Sportsmanship Award, given to individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

Letecia Wright and Kelcey McKinney were named to the conference Second Team after their runner-up finishes in the 60m hurdles and triple jump, respectively. Wright set a PR of 8.03 to finish just behind Manning in the hurdles, with McKinney also posting a PR (12.58m).