April 22, 2018

Buckeyes Sweep Purdue to Claim Outright B1G Title


West Lafayette, Ind. – Before Ty Tucker took over for Ohio State tennis, the team had gone 0-10 in Big Ten play in back-to-back seasons. Rolling over Purdue 4-0 in today’s final regular season match, Tucker and his squad have now gone undefeated in the conference in 12 of the last 13 years, and for the third straight season.

With this win, the Buckeyes conclude their regular season 26-2. This includes 11-0 in the conference, 15-0 at home, and 14-2 against nationally ranked teams. The Boilermakers fall to 10-16 on the season and 2-9 in the conference.


Doubles was quick and thoroughly controlled by the Buckeyes. Matt Mendez and Hunter Tubert have been the rock in doubles all year for the Buckeyes, and were the first to take a set with a 6-1 win over Athell Bennett and Javier Rodriguez. The pair end the regular season on a ten-match win streak, and 18-2 in dual match play.


Mikael Torpegaard and John McNally clinched the doubles point with a 6-2 win over Renan Hanayama and Maksymilian Raupuk. The lineup switch halfway through the year has worked beautifully, as the duo end the year a perfect 10-0.


Singles was also efficiently won by the Buckeyes, who were able to clinch the match in under two hours. First to win was JJ Wolf, who only dropped two games, both in the first set against Raupuk. He ends the season with 20 wins, including winning his past seven matches.


Next to win was Mikael Torpegaard, who won his 20th match of dual match play and 15th on court 1, to end his final regular season match on a strong note. He defeated Mateo Julio 6-2, 6-2 to go 24-6 on the season.


Clinching for the Buckeyes was Martin Joyce, who also ends the season strong, coming off a loss on Friday. He beats Hanayama 6-4, 6-3 to end the season 26-7 on the season.


Ohio State concludes its regular season undefeated in the Big Ten, and can further assert their dominance in the conference in the upcoming Big Ten Tournament. The tourney will take place in Iowa City starting Thursday, April 26. The Buckeyes will enter the tournament as the No. 1 seed, and can win their 13th tournament title.


#3 Ohio State 4, Purdue 0

Singles competition

  1. #4 Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) def. Mateo Julio (PUR_M) 6-2, 6-2
  2. #36 JJ Wolf (OSU) def. Maksymilian Raupuk (PUR_M) 6-2, 6-0
  3. Athell Bennett (PUR_M) vs. #104 John McNally (OSU) 0-6, 6-1, 1-2, unfinished
  4. Javier Rodriguez (PUR_M) vs. Tim Seibert (OSU) 6-4, 3-1, unfinished
  5. #99 Martin Joyce (OSU) def. Renan Hanayama (PUR_M) 6-4, 6-3
  6. Dominik Sochureck (PUR_M) vs. Riley Reist (OSU) 6-3, 2-5, unfinished

Doubles competition

  1. Mateo Julio/Dominik Sochureck (PUR_M) vs. Martin Joyce/JJ Wolf (OSU) 2-4, unfinished
  2. #78 John McNally/Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) def. Renan Hanayama/Maksymilian Raupuk (PUR_M) 6-2
  3. Matt Mendez/Hunter Tubert (OSU) def. Athell Bennett/Javier Rodriguez (PUR_M) 6-1

Match Notes:

Ohio State 26-2; National ranking #3

Purdue 10-16

Order of finish: Doubles (3,2); Singles (2,1, 5)

Match played outdoors at the Schwartz Tennis Center.