April 25, 2019

Buckeyes Suit up for Big Ten Championship in Philadelphia


April 25, 2019

2018-19 Schedule
2018-19 Stats
Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Big Ten Championship
Dates:April 26-28, 2019
Host:Big Ten Conference
Course:Wissahickon Course, Philadelphia Cricket Club
Flourtown, Penn.
Live Scoring:Golfstat
Format:Play 5, count 4
Tee Times:Friday/Saturday – 9 AM
Sunday – 8 AM
Weather:Thunderstorms, 72°/Partly Cloudy, 61°/Scattered Showers, 66°
Teams:Ohio State, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebrska, Northwestern, Penn State, Purdue, Rutgers, Wisconsin
Buckeye Lineup:
1. Daniel Wetterich
2. Will Grimmer
3. Caleb Ramirez
4. Will Voetsch
5. Laken Hinton

Ohio State at the Big Ten Championship

  • The Buckeyes have had great historic success, claiming 23 Big Ten titles, six more than second place Illinois, with their most recent title coming in 2004.
  • Ohio State also has the second most medalists with 18, the last also in the 2004 season.
  • Through two rounds of the Big Ten Championship last year, the Buckeyes were one shot down and ended up finishing second to Illinois.

The Course

  • The Philadelphia Cricket Club is home to two championship courses, one being the Wissahickon course that will host the Big Ten Championship. The Wissahickon course was commissioned by the Club in 1920 and opened for play in 1922, undergoing a complete restoration in 2013-14 to bring the course back to its original design. The course was designed by renowned A.W. Tillinghast at the peak of his career, creating the par-70 7,119 yard layout that features a number of long par 4s that challenge even the longest of hitters. The Philadelphia Cricket Club hosted the 2015 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2016 Constellation Senior Players Championship and will host the 2020 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship.

Buckeye Backdrop

  • The Buckeyes are in great position to contend at the Big Ten Championship, coming off a four-shot victory at their home tournament, the Robert Kepler Intercollegiate, and their third of the season.
  • Ohio State has now won the Kepler 24 of the 48 years it has been played, and the first time since the 2003 season.
  • Senior Daniel Wetterich picked up the first win of his career in dominant fashion, shooting 64 (-7) in the final round to outpace the field by six strokes. In the last three tournaments, he has found his stroke, finishing a combined 16-under par and collecting three top-10 finishes.
  • Will Voetsch finished tied for eighth place to notch his fourth career top-10 finish with a two-over 144 (75-69).
  • Kevin Stone who competed on the Ohio State B team, finished three-over to tie for 11th-place, shooting 75-70.