February 27, 2019

Buckeyes Set Two New Records Through Two Events at B1G Championships


Wednesday Results

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The Ohio State men’s swimming & diving team started off the 2019 Big Ten Swimming & Diving Championships with record performances on Wednesday evening at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa. The team set a new 800 Free Relay record and 200 Free record, placing in the Top Three in both events contested for the night with NCAA “A” Cuts.

Ohio State Buckeyes

Opening the championship meet, the 200 Medley Relay team of Colin McDermott, Ben Sugar, Michael Salazar and Mossimo Chavez placed third with a time of 1:24.16, the new No. 2 time in program history and just .01 second away from the program record. McDermott started off with a back split of 21.48, and Sugar posted a breast split of 23.82. Salazar churned out a 19.90 fly split, the fastest butterfly split of the event. Chavez anchored the squad with a 50 Free split of 18.96, giving the four an NCAA “A” Cut.

The Buckeyes continued to impress with a new school record in the 800 Free Relay, posting an “A” Cut time of 6:13.44. Andrew Loy led off the group with a split of 1:32.75 for a new 200 Free school record, followed by Ruslan Gaziev at 1:33.33. Nick Hogsed took over with a split of 1:35.97, and Paul DeLakis anchored the group with a time of 1:31.39 and was the fastest split of all athletes.

After just two events, OSU is in third with 108 points, behind Michigan and Indiana in a tie for first with 120 points.

Competition resumes tomorrow, with a preliminary session beginning at noon at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa. The 500 Free, 200 IM, 50 Free, 1-Meter and 400 Medley Relay will be contested.

2019 Big Ten Swimming & Diving Championships
Feb. 27, 2019
Campus Recreation and Wellness Center – Iowa City, Iowa 

200 Medley Relay
3. McDermott, Sugar, Salazar, M. Chavez (1:24.16)

800 Freestyle Relay
3. Loy, Gaziev, Hogsed, DeLakis (6:13.44)