November 2, 2017

Buckeyes Set for Exhibition vs. Wooster


Nov. 2, 2017

Ohio State Buckeyes vs. Wooster Fighting Scots

Date: Nov. 5, 2017
Site: Value City Arena (19,049)
Game Time: 4:05 p.m.
Television: BTN Plus/
Talent: Dylan Tyrer (Play-By-Play)
Sean Lowe (Expert Analysis)
Carolina Rice (Sideline)
Radio: OSU-IMG Sports Network (63 stations)
Satellite Radio: None
Local Radio: WBNS-FM 97.1, AM-1460
Radio Talent: Paul Keels (Play-By-Play)
Ron Stokes (Expert Analysis)

Starting Five, Plus One
• Ohio State and Wooster first played Feb. 9, 1905 in Columbus, a 37-19 victory for the Buckeyes. The all-time series is led by Ohio State, 8-4. The last meeting took place Dec. 16, 1939, a 64-35 Buckeyes’ win. Wooster is 2-7 in Columbus. Ohio State assistant coach Ryan Pedon is Wooster graduate (2000/Communications).
• Mike Conley Jr. was elected into the Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame in 2017 and was officially recognized during Hall of Fame Weekend on the Ohio State campus the weekend of Oct. 7. Conley is the 39th men’s basketball student-athlete to be elected to the Athletics Hall of Fame. Conley, now in his 11th season with the Memphis Grizzlies, was the No. 4 overall pick in the 2007 NBA Draft after leading the Buckeyes to the NCAA National Championship game in 2007.
Evan Turner, who was Ohio State’s 38th Hall of Fame inductee a season ago, was recognized Sept. 9 during Ohio State’s matchup with Oklahoma on the gridiron for his donation of $500,000 to the men’s basketball program. The donation will be used for graphics and to name the hallway outside the men’s basketball practice facility. Turner was the National Player of the Year in college basketball in 2010 and was the No. 2 pick in the NBA Draft that year (Philadelphia).
• New at home games this year, the Buckeyes will join the students in signing Carmen Ohio following each game. Players and coaches will line up in front of the student section (behind team benches).
• Ohio State will appear on four major television networks in 2017-18. This season marks the first year in which FOX will televise Big Ten Conference games. The Buckeyes, who have traditionally appeared on CBS, the Big Ten Network and the ESPN family of networks, will appear on FOX and/or FS1 four times this season. The first appearance will be at Wisconsin Dec. 2 (5 p.m./FOX).
• With the new television deal in place this season with FOX, Ohio State will play Big Ten Conference games on each day of the week at least once this season. Traditionally, league games were played Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays on ESPN networks, Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays on the Big Ten Network and Sundays on CBS. During the course of the regular season Ohio State will play two games on Monday, three each on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, six on Thursday and seven each on Saturday and Sunday.

Holtmann Era Begins in Columbus
June 9, 2017 marked the first day of the Chris Holtmann era at Ohio State. After six seasons as a head coach, including the last three at Butler, Holtmann becomes the 14th head coach in Ohio State men’s basketball history. In his young career to date, Holtmann already has earned coach of the year honors in both the Big South Conference (2013), where he spent three seasons coaching Gardner-Webb (2001-13), and in the Big East (2017) in the final of three seasons with the Bulldogs. His first game in Columbus will be the 200th of his head coaching career (114-85).

Season Openers, Holtmann Era
Date Opponent Score
11/10/17 Towson State W, 74-53
At Butler
2016 Northern Colorado W, 89-52
2015 The Citadel W, 144-71
2014 Maine W, 99-57
At Gardner-Webb
2012 @North Carolina L, 76-59
2011 @Clemson L, 65-44
2010 @Charlotte W, 78-70

Buckeyes In Midst of Best Decade in History
With 210 wins in the last eight seasons (2010-17), Ohio State already has more victories this decade than in any other in the program’s history. Ohio State won 189 games from 1980-1989 and 188 contests from 1960-69. The winning percentage of .732 (210-77) in the last eight years ties the best previous winning percentage in a decade set during from 1960-69 (188-69/.732).

Ohio Mr. Basketball at Ohio State
Freshman Kaleb Wesson, a 6-9 rookie from nearby Westerville, Ohio, was named Mr. Basketball in the state of Ohio following his senior year at Westerville South High School. Wesson is the 12th Ohio Mr. Basketball to sign with the Buckeyes out of high school and the 13th to play for Ohio State. Tony Stockman earned the honor in 2000 but elected to start his career at Clemson. He later transferred to Ohio State and played in Columbus in 2004 and 2005.
Year Mr. Basketball
2017 Kaleb Wesson
2013 Marc Loving
2010 Jared Sullinger
2009 Jared Sullinger
2008 William Buford
2007 Jon Diebler
2004 Jamar Butler
2000 Tony Stockman (Clemson/Ohio State)
1995 Damon Stringer
1992 Greg Simpson
1991 Greg Simpson
1989 Jimmy Jackson
1988 Jimmy Jackson

For more on the Buckeyes click on the Ohio State Notes link above.