Aug. 19, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten announced its 2015 men’s soccer preseason coaches’ poll and players to watch list Wednesday, with seniors Liam Doyle and Kyle Culbertson and junior Danny Jensen being recognized for the Buckeyes.

Defending champion Maryland earned the top honor among the nine conference teams in the preseason poll. Ohio State was selected fifth behind the Terrapins, Indiana, Penn State and Michigan State. Maryland enters the season as the conference favorite after winning its first Big Ten title in 2014. Last season, the Buckeyes (9-8-5) claimed a 5-3 Big Ten record, which was tied for second in the conference and earned them the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Tournament. Northwestern, Michigan, Rutgers and Wisconsin follow the Scarlet and Gray in the poll.

In total, six Big Ten schools are ranked or receiving votes in the NSCAA NCAA Division I Men’s National Preseason Rankings.

Ohio State continues its preseason schedule with a final exhibition against No. 19 Xavier at 8 p.m. ET Friday in Fort Wayne, Ind. The exhibition will highlight the first night of the Shindigz National Soccer Festival located at the Hefner Soccer Complex. For details and ticket information, click here.


  1. Maryland
  2. Indiana
  3. Penn State 
  4. Michigan State
  5. Ohio State
  6. Northwestern
  7. Michigan
  8. Rutgers
  9. Wisconsin

Femi Hollinger-Janzen, Indiana, Sr., Forward
Grant Lillard, Indiana, So., Defense
Tanner Thompson, Indiana, Jr., Midfield
Mael Corboz, Maryland, Sr., Midfield
Tsubasa Endoh, Maryland, Sr., Midfield
Chris Odoi-Atsem, Maryland, Jr., Defense
Evan Louro, Michigan, So., Goalkeeper
Colin McAtee, Michigan, Sr., Midfield
William Mellors-Blair, Michigan, Sr., Forward
Zach Bennett, Michigan State, Sr., Goalkeeper
Zach Carroll, Michigan State, Sr., Defense
Jason Stacy, Michigan State, Sr., Forward
Joey Calistri, Northwestern, Sr., Forward
Layth Masri, Northwestern, Sr., Defense/Midfield
Cole Missimo, Northwestern, Sr., Midfield
Kyle Culbertson, Ohio State, Sr., Midfield
Liam Doyle, Ohio State, Sr., Defense
Danny Jensen, Ohio State, Jr., Forward
Matt Bersano, Penn State, Sr., Goalkeeper
Brian James, Penn State, Sr., Midfield
Connor Maloney, Penn State, Jr., Forward
Mitchell Lurie, Rutgers, Sr., Defense
Mitchell Taintor, Rutgers, Sr., Midfield
Jason Wright, Rutgers, So., Forward
Tom Barlow, Wisconsin, So., Forward
Sam Brotherton, Wisconsin, Fr., Defense
Drew Conner, Wisconsin, Sr., Midfield