July 27, 2018

Buckeyes Secure Pair Of Top Finishes On Day Two Of Phillips 66 National Championships


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram | Phillips 66 National Championships Results

IRVINE, Calif. – Representatives from the Ohio State swimming & diving team continued a strong showing at the Phillips 66 National Championships held at the William Woollett Aquatic Center in Irvine, Calif. Andrew Loy posted his second Top 25 finish of the event, this time in the 200 Free, and Ben Sugar recorded a 14th-place finish in the 50 Fly.

After a 19th-place finish in the 100 Free on Wednesday, Loy registered 200 Free time of 1:49.18 to qualify for the finals while dropping 1.71 seconds off of his personal best. In the final, Loy claimed 21st with a time of 1:49.80.

Sugar took a 17th-place finish in the 50 Fly prelim by clocking in at 24.22, and he followed that up with a a time of 24.42 in the final for 14th place.

Paul Delakis also put up a personal best time in the 200 Free at a time of 1:49.83, shaving off 1.31 seconds from his previous best and winning the fifth heat of the event. Hanna Gresser improved her 200 Breast time to 2:34.64, and Jason Mathews also improved to a time of 2:16.28, taking 1.16 seconds off his personal best.

Tomorrow’s competition resumes with preliminaries at 12 p.m. ET. Events contested are the 400 IM, 100 Fly, 50 Breast and 50 Back.

Phillips 66 National Championships
William Woollett Aquatic Center – Irvine Calif.
Thursday, July 26

Men 200 Free
21. Andrew Loy – 1:49.80 (final)
30. Paul Delakis – 1:49.93 (prelim)
59. Nick Hogsed – 1:51.16 (prelim)

Women 200 Breast
50. Hanna Gresser – 2:34.64 (prelim)

Men 200 Breast
39. Jason Mathews – 2:16.28 (prelim)

Men 50 Fly
14. Ben Sugar – 24.42 (final)
29. Noah Lense – 24.47 (prelim)
30. Michael Salazar – 24.50 (prelim)