April 19, 2014

Photo Gallery 


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s track and field team performed well on the final day of competition at the 29th Jesse Owens Track Classic at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium Saturday afternoon.

Running in 60-degree temperatures under clear skies, the Ohio State 4×100-meter relay team – sophomore Aliyah Everson, senior Chesna Sykes, senior Alycia Prior and senior Ashlee Abraham – raced to a season-best time of 44.56 seconds, a Top-25 Division I performance and the fastest time in the Big Ten this season.

A personal-best jump of 6.13 meters (20-1.50) helped senior Adenike Pedro to the long jump title. The mark ranks Pedro fifth all-time in school outdoor history.

In the 400-meter hurdles, sophomore Alexis Franklin cruised to a first-place time of 59.16 seconds. The 2013 Big Ten Freshman of the Year is ranked 18th nationally in the event this year with a season-best time of 58.65 set earlier this month at the LSU Battle on the Bayou.

Other highlights for the Buckeyes:


Runner-up honors went to Abraham in 11.65 seconds, while Prior was fifth in 11.83. Katie Wise of Indiana State claimed the victory in a time of 11.52.

100m Hurdles

Junior Alexandria Johnson posted a season-best time of 13.59 to finish second overall, while Franklin placed fifth in 13.86. Former Wright State athlete Cassandra Lloyd, competing unattached, took home the win in 13.18 seconds.


Ohio State finished 3-4 in the event. Everson turned in a third-place time of 23.83, while freshman Aaliyah Barnes ran a season-best and fourth-place time of 23.99. Alicia Evans of Michigan State was the winner in 23.58 seconds.


In her first 800-meter action of the season, junior Katie Borchers placed third in a time of 2:11.56. Fourth place went to freshman Rachel Weber (2:12.86). Aubrey Wilberding of Michigan State captured first place in 2:10.10.

Triple Jump

Runner-up honors went to senior Bianca Walton at 12.31 meters (40-4.75). Unattached competitor Allison Wilder was the champion at 12.50 meters (41-0.25).