November 3, 2017

Buckeyes Remain Unblemished After Two Meets


Nov. 3, 2017

Full Results

Columbus, Ohio – The 17th-ranked Ohio State men’s swimming team defeated Denison University by a score of 200-90, and the women’s team eclipsed Denison by a tally of 201-92, while also downing Akron 184-109 on Friday night at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

Women’s Recap
Molly Kowal, Meg Bailey and Genevieve Angerame all three came away with two victories in their individual events Friday evening. Kowal owned the long-distance races with wins in the 500 freestyle (5:54.71) and 1000 freestyle (10:07.43). In the 500 freestyle, Kowal’s winning time was 6.45 seconds faster than Akron’s Brooke Lamoureux.

After claiming a title on the one meter last Friday night, Angerame returned to McCorkle and pulled off an impressive sweep on the one meter and three meter. Her winning score on the three-meter board was a season-best tally of 313.85. She put together a final score of 287.25 to claim gold on the one meter.

Coming off an impressive three-win meet to open up the season, Bailey claimed titles twice in the waters of McCorkle in the 200 butterfly (1:59.13) and the 200 individual medley (2:01.08). In both of her wins, Ohio State took the top two spots with Amanda McNulty trailing her in the 200 butterfly and Kathrin Demler finished right after her in the 200 individual medley. Bailey also earned a silver finish in the 200 breaststroke with a readout of 2:16.77.

Ohio State’s other five individual winners were Demler (200 freestyle/1:49.87), Marianne Kahmann (100 backstroke/54.79), Freya Rayner (50 freestyle/22.87), Maria Coy (100 freestyle/50.51) and Kristen Romano (200 backstroke/1:58.52). Rayner’s win in the 50 freestyle was a close one barely edging Macie McNichols (22.88) by .01 seconds.

The Buckeyes swept both of the relays with ease. The foursome of Kahmann, Molly Washko, Rayner and McNichols claimed gold in the 200 medley relay with a readout of 1:40.48, and the 400 freestyle relay squad of McNichols, Coy, Romano and Rayner came out on top with a clocking of 3:22.33). 

Men’s Recap
Noah Lense dominated the butterfly events, Nick Hogsed took titles in the 200 freestyle and individual medley, Stephen Romanik claimed two golds on the diving boards as No. 17 Ohio State came away with a convincing victory on its way to winning all 16 events.

Lense was smooth and graceful in the 100 and 200 butterfly as he claimed the top podium spot in both events. He first won the 200 butterfly with a clocking of 1:48.87 and he followed that up with a time of 48.56 in the 100 butterfly. Hogsed got his night started off with a quality win in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:38.47 against a field of nine other swimmers. He returned to the pool for the final individual race of the night the 200 individual medley, and won that with a mark of 1:52.65.

Stephen Romanik collected two golds on the one meter and three-meter dives. He scored a 367.70 on the one meter and complemented that with a 388.75 on the three meter.

The other 10 event winners for Ohio State were: Austin Mortimer (1000 freestyle/9:26.68), Ben Sugar (100 backstroke/49.62), Jack Barone (100 breaststroke/56.65), Justin Rich (50 freestyle/20.73), Paul DeLakis (100 freestyle/44.75), Brad Shannon (200 backstroke/1:58.52), Connor Isings (200 breaststroke/2:04.88) and Brayden Seal (500 freestyle/4:30.57). The wins by Isings and Sugar were the first of their collegiate careers.

As did the women, the men swept both relays. The foursome of Mark Belanger, Barone, Sam Stankivicz and Mossimo Chavez swam away with gold in the 200 medley relay with a readout of 1:29.03. Michael Salazar, DeLakis, Ching Hwang Lim, and Andrew Loy closed out the meet with a win in the 400 freestyle relay (2:57.72).

Results – Top Ohio State Finishers
W 1M Dive – Genevieve Angerame (287.25)
M 1M Dive – Stephen Romanik (367.70)
W 3M Dive – Genevieve Angerame (313.85)
M 3M Dive – Stephen Romanik (388.75)
W 200 Medley Relay- Kahmann, Washko, Rayner, McNichols (1:40.48)
M 200 Medley Relay- Belanger, Barone, Stankivicz, Chavez (1:29.03)
W 1000 Free- Kowal (10:07.43), Jaspeado (10:11.61)
M 1000 Free- Mortimer (9:26.68), Burt (9:33.23), Vandermeulen (9:33.77)
W 200 Free- Demler (1:49.87), Romano (1:50.98), Trace (1:52.14)
M 200 Free- Hogsed (1:38.47), Seal (1:39.13), Salazar (1:39.70)
W 100 Back- Kahmann (54.79)
M 100 Back- Sugar (49.62), Painhas (49.87), Loy (50.50)
W 100 Breast- 2nd Gresser (1:02.30)
M 100 Breast- Barone (56.65), Jahan (56.70), Isings (56.92)
W 200 Fly- Bailey (1:59.13), McNulty (2:02.28)
M 200 Fly- Lense (1:48.87), Lim (1:50.49)
W 50 Free- Rayner (22.87), McNichols (22.88), Meek (23.36)
M 50 Free- Rich (20.73), *Dunn (20.96), *Trace (20.96)
W 100 Free- Coy (50.51), McNichols (50.86)
M 100 Free- Delakis (44.75/PR), Musterait (45.04), Hogsed (46.15)
W 200 Back- Romano (1:58.52)
M 200 Back- Shannon (1:50.26), Painhas (1:50.30)
W 200 Breast- 2nd Bailey (2:16.77), 3rd Gresser (2:17.14)
M 200 Breast-  Isings (2:04.88)
W 500 Free- Kowal (4:54.71)
M 500 Free- Seal (4:30.57)
W 100 Fly- 2nd McNulty (55.53)
M 100 Fly- Lense (48.56)
W 200 IM- Bailey (2:01.08)
M 200 IM- Hogsed (1:52.65)
W 400 Free Relay- McNichols, Coy, Romano, Rayner (3:22.33)
M 400 Free Relay- Salazar, Delakis, Lim, Loy (2:57.72)

Up Next
Both the men’s and women’s teams will have a two-week break before they host the three-day Ohio State Invitational on Nov. 17-19 at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.