May 23, 2014


COLUMBUS, Ohio Nine games at Buckeye Varsity Field and six contests against teams that played in last year’s NCAA Tournament highlight the 2014 Ohio State field hockey schedule, announced today by head coach Anne Wilkinson.

Additionally, the Buckeyes’ nine non-conference opponents had a combined record of 97-79 last year (.551). Ohio State will play four games against teams that finished ranked in the top 10 of the final NFHCA coaches poll and eight contests against teams ranked in the top 25.

The 2014 slate gets started with the Buckeye Classic, which this year will feature Ohio State tangling with Syracuse on Friday, Aug. 29. Last year, the Orange were 16-4 overall and ranked No. 2 in the final NFHCA regular season poll. The Classic concludes with a neutral site game on Aug. 30 between Syracuse and Miami. On Sept. 1, the Buckeyes make a trip to Albany, N.Y. for a contest with the Great Danes, who were 16-5 a year ago and advanced to the America East Tournament title game.

Ohio State’s next three games will be against in-state foes, as it takes on Miami (Sept. 5), Ohio (Sept. 12) and Ball State (Sept. 14). Big Ten play opens at home on Friday, Sept. 19 against Michigan State, the defending conference tournament champions. The Buckeyes close out that weekend with a tilt against Appalachian State on Sunday, Sept. 21.

Between Sept. 23 and Oct. 5, Ohio State plays three of four games on the road against teams that combined to finish 65-19 last year. The stretch starts with a road game at Louisville on Sept. 23. On Sept. 28, the Buckeyes welcome last year’s Big Ten regular season co-champions to Buckeye Varsity Field, Penn State. Ohio State then heads to College Park, Md., for a match-up against Big Ten newcomer Maryland, who was 22-2 last year and played the national semifinals. The Buckeyes will also travel to Charlottesville, Va. and face Virginia on Sept. 5.

A trip to Piscataway, N.J. to face the conference’s other new member, Rutgers, awaits on Oct. 10. The season’s final non-conference game occurs on Oct. 12 when Kent State comes to Columbus. Ohio State closes out the regular season with four Big Ten games over a two week span – at Indiana (Oct. 17), home vs. Iowa (Oct. 19), at Northwestern (Oct. 25) and the regular season finale at home vs. Michigan (Nov. 2).

This year’s Big Ten Tournament will take place at Phyllis Ocker Field on the campus of the University of Michigan Nov. 6-9.