July 27, 2022

Buckeyes Recognized with IWLCA Academic Awards


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s lacrosse program and eight Buckeye standouts were recognized by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association with academic awards this week.

Ohio State earned Academic Honor Squad status for posting a team grade-point average of better than 3.2 for the academic year. This is the second year in a row and the eighth time since the award started Ohio State has been named an Academic Honor Squad.

To earn a spot on the Academic Honor Roll, student-athletes must be a junior, senior or graduate student and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.50 or greater.

Four Buckeyes are now two-time selections to the Academic Honor Roll – graduate student Lindsay Epstein (kinesiology master’s) and seniors Clare Johnston (speech and hearing science), Ava Keethler (health sciences) and Cai Martin (health sciences).

Graduate students Sophie Baez (kinesiology master’s) and Ali Beekhuizen (kinesiology master’s), along with juniors Molly Erneston (agribusiness and applied economics) and Nicole Ferrara (communication), were recognized for the first time.

All eight Buckeyes earned Academic All-Big Ten and Ohio State Scholar-Athletes honors this year, with Baez, Epstein, Erneston, Ferrara, Keethler and Martin also named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars.

Ohio State Buckeyes