April 10, 2018

Buckeyes Recognized at Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Dinner


At the 51st annual Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Dinner Monday at the Ohio Union, six members of the Ohio State women’s tennis team were recognized. In all, a record 692 Ohio State Scholar-Athletes were honored.

Senior Anna Sanford was named an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete for the fourth time. Andrea Ballinger and Danielle Wolf are two-time honorees and freshmen Mary Beth Hurley, Shiori Fukuda and Maria Tyrina were all recognized for the first time.

Ferny Angeles Paz, a 2017 senior and four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, was the recipient of two postgraduate scholarships, as she was was selected for the Woody and Anne Hayes Scholarship Fund and a Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award.

The Woody and Anne Hayes Scholarship Fund, established in 1979, provides one or more varsity athletes with financial assistance for postgraduate studies. The recipients of this scholarship are student-athletes who have demonstrated academic achievement (3.00 GPA minimum) and leadership qualities. Angeles Paz was one of five award recipients.

Fergus scholars are male or female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, achieved academically (3.00 GPA minimum), demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship and shown potential for success in a graduate or professional program. Established in 1967, the award is given in memory of Corwin A. Fergus, a member of the Ohio State football team (1912-14), a graduate of the Ohio State School of Law and later a successful businessman. The award reflects his strong commitment to the pursuit of academic and athletic excellence and his positive contributions to society. The $5,000 postgraduate scholarships, which each are renewable for up to three years, can be utilized for graduate study or professional programs at Ohio State. Angeles Paz was one of four honorees this year.