COLUMBUS, Ohio — Coach Jim Tressel and 2009 captains Doug Worthington and Austin Spitler appeared before Columbus City Council Monday evening to accept a resolution honoring the 2010 Rose Bowl champions.

The resolution, presented by Councilmember Priscilla Tyson, reads as follows:

To recognize and celebrate the Ohio State Buckeyes for their remarkable season, culminating in a 26-17 Rose Bowl win over Oregon;

Whereas, the Ohio State University’s football program has been among the nation’s most respected and celebrated since its inception in 1890; and

Whereas, countless Buckeye coaches and players have contributed to a tradition of success on the football field that is the envy of other universities across the nation; and

Whereas, this year’s Ohio State team honored the program’s rich history by posting an 11-2 record and securing yet another BCS bowl appearance; and

Whereas, the leadership of Buckeyes coach Jim Tressel has inspired not only his players, but the team’s entire fan base; and

Whereas, on January 1, 2010, the Buckeyes closed a remarkable 200-2010 season by defeating Pac-10 champion Oregon in the Rose Bowl; now therefore,

Be it resolved by the Council of the City of Columbus:

That this Council does hereby congratulate the Ohio State Buckeyes and Coach Jim Tressel on another outstanding season, and thanks the team for continuing the rich tradition of OSU football.