March 21, 2018

Buckeyes Receive NFHCA National Academic Team Award


Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State field hockey team has been recognized as a Zag Field Hockey/National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Academic Team Award recipient for the 2017-18 academic year. The national organization announced the teams that earned the award on Tuesday and it’s the 12th-straight year that Ohio State has earned this distinction.

In order to be named a National Academic Team, a team must maintain a cumulative team GPA of 3.0 or higher. In December, Ohio State had three student-athletes graduate and 15 Buckeyes earned Academic All-Big Ten honors. Kelsey Nolan, a Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages major, was recognized by the Big Ten for maintaining a unblemished 4.0 GPA. In addition to Nolan, Maartje Bongers, Lauren Carroll, Casey Cole, Courtney Daniels, Natalie Faust, Sofia Haramis, Whitney Harris, Maddy Humphrey, Morgan Kile, Adelaide Penzone, Genevieve Penzone, Caroline Rath, Liz Tamburro and Carolina Vergroesen were named to the Academic All-Big Ten team.