May 16, 2017

Buckeyes Receive Automatic Bid to NCAA Championships


May 16, 2017

NCAA Release

Columbus, Ohio – After winning its fifth straight Big Ten title on Sunday, the Ohio State women’s rowing team received one of 11 automatic bids to the NCAA Championships, the NCAA Rowing Committee announced on Tuesday. The NCAA regatta will be taking place in West Windsor, N.J., on Mercer Lake from May 26-28.

The Buckeyes will send three boats to the NCAA Championships to vie for the national title. The First Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight and First Varsity Four will be the boats on the water; those three boats are a combined 72-12 this season.

Ohio State’s 1V4 is the highest seeded Buckeye boat at the regatta with a No. 4 ranking; the First Varsity Four owns a record of 30-4 overall, 8-4 in races. The 1V8 garnered the fifth seed at the regatta with a record of 31-4 overall (8-4 in races) and the 2V8 was labeled the seventh-best boat at the event.

This will be the 18th consecutive appearance by the Buckeyes at the NCAA Championships. The Scarlet and Gray won three straight national titles from 2013-15 and earned runner-up honors last year.

Ohio State locked up the automatic bid with a dramatic, come-from-behind win over No. 4 Michigan Sunday (May 14) at the Big Ten Championships. Entering the final race of the day, the 1V8, the Buckeyes trailed by eight points, but were still within striking distance. The 1V8 reeled off a time of 6:08.79 to secure the race and bring home the team title.

The NCAA Championships format is a little bit different than that of the Big Ten Championships. At the NCAA regatta, only three boats (1V8, 2V8 and 1V4) will compete as opposed to the seven at Big Ten’s. Each boat will go through a series of qualifying races during the first two days of the regatta before being positioned in a final on the last day of the regatta. All in all, 22 teams will compete at the regatta, including four other Big Ten schools (Indiana, Iowa, Michigan and Wisconsin).