COLUMBUS, Ohio – With the team portion of the NCAA men’s tennis championships coming to a close, a trio of Buckeyes are preparing for NCAA individual competition at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga. Senior Justin Kronauge, sophomore Chase Buchanan and freshman Dino Marcan will vie for singles or doubles titles starting Wednesday.

Kronauge and Buchanan will compete in the singles championship, while Buchanan will pair with Marcan in the doubles bracket. Match times are to be determined.

In a field of 64, Kronauge (35-3) a co-captain from Dayton, Ohio, will face Vahid Mirzadeh from Florida State. This will be the first meeting between Kronauge and Mirzadeh. After taking over the program’s top spot in combined (274) and doubles (128) wins earlier in the season, Kronauge will attempt to move into sole possession of first place in career singles victories at Ohio State against Mirzadeh. Kronauge currently has 146 singles wins. The 2010 Midwest Region Farnsworth/ITA Senior Player of the Year, Kronauge currently is riding a 24-match win streak in singles.

On the opposite side of the bracket as the No. 7 seed, Buchanan also will face a Seminole in Jean-Yves Aubone. The Buckeye from New Albany, Ohio, enters his first-career match against Aubone with a 29-5 record. The 2010 Big Ten Player of the Year, Buchanan was named the Midwest Region’s Player to Watch.

In between singles matches, Buchanan will join Marcan, a Rijeka, Croatia, native, on the courts and the duo will open action against Auburn’s Tim Puetz and Alexander Stamchev among a field of 32. Ranked No. 9 in the country, Buchanan and Marcan are 20-3 overall and 11-2 vs. nationally-ranked opponents. Since defeating ninth-ranked duo Austin Krajicek and Jeff Dadamo of Texas A&M in March, Buchanan and Marcan have entered the ITA rankings at No. 43 and have climbed 34 spots to No. 9.

2010 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships
Athens, Ga.
Dan Magill Tennis Complex
University of Georgia 
May 26-31

May 26
No. 7 Chase Buchanan vs. Jean-Yves Aubone (Florida State)
Justin Kronauge vs. Vahid Mirzadeh (Florida State)

May 27
Chase Buchanan and Dino Marcan vs. Tim Puetz and Alexander Stamchev (Auburn)