Jan. 5, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team returns to the Mike Peppe Aquatic Center Friday and Saturday to play host to Wright State and Indiana, respectively. The team returns from its winter break holding a 5-0 record. This is the team’s first home meet since before Thanksgiving.

Buckeyes Dominate Denison
The Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team preserved its unbeaten streak defeating the Denison Big Red 150-96 on Nov. 19. The men won every event of the meet. Tommy Seay won the 100-yard freestyle for the fifth time in as many meets in a time of 46.11. The team also had two multiple-event winners. Nick Keene won the 1,000-yard freestyle and the 500-yard freestyle events, while Gary Grant won in the 100-yard butterfly and the 50-yard freestyle. Other winners of the meet included Nate King in the 400-yard individual medley, R.J. Lemyre won in the 200-yard backstroke, Marty Tomes won the 200-yard butterfly, Matt Jefferies won in the 100-yard breaststroke, and Joe Doyle won in the 200-yard freestyle.

A Buckeye First
Friday, the Buckeyes will meet the Wright State Raiders for the first time in Ohio State swimming history. The Raiders enter the meet 5-0, with wins over Butler, University of Illinois-Chicago, Oakland, Miami and Tampa. Junior Elvis Cirikovic holds the top times in the 50- and 100-yard freestyle events. Sophomore Will Ehresman also has helped keep the team flawless with wins in the 200-, 500- and 1,000-yard freestyle events, which earned him Horizon League athlete of the week honors for Dec. 13.

A Look at the Hoosiers
The Indiana Hoosiers, 5-2, enter the meet as the 13th-ranked team in the country by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America. The team obtained this ranking after defeating No. 12 Kentucky. Junior Kevin Swander has helped the team maintain this ranking, winning the 100-yard backstroke. The Hoosier diving squad has also been prevalent in the pool sweeping both the 1-meter and the 3-meter regularly and with the help of freshman Taylor Roberts who was named Big Ten Diver of the Week for Dec. 6.

Last Time vs. Indiana
The last time the Buckeyes and the Hoosiers met was Jan. 10, 2004. The Hoosiers defeated the Buckeyes in a close meet of 130-111. The Buckeyes dominated in three swimming events. Tommy Seay won the 100-yard freestyle event, Benji Herschberger won the 1,000-yard freestyle and Jeff Gullet won the 200-yard individual medley. The diving squad also dominated with Mitch Richeson winning the 1-meter dive and Kellen Harkness winning the 3-meter dive.

Buckeyes Win double-Dual
The team defeated Louisville and West Virginia to claim both ends of a double-dual meet Nov. 12 in Louisville, Ky. The Buckeyes defeated Louisville 178-63, and downed West Virginia 164.5-78.5.

Nate King was the only double-event winner in the pool, touching the wall first in the 200-yard backstroke and in the 500-yard freestyle, which were contested back-to-back. Seniors Tommy Seay and Rob Kauscher were the other individual winners, taking the 100-yard freestyle and the 200-yard breaststroke, respectively. The 400-yard freestyle relay team also posted the win, in a time of 3:05.53.

Buckeye divers swept the Top 4 slots in the diving events with Mitch Richeson winning both events. Nick Hanneman, Kellen Harkness and Marc Dreyer placed second, third and fourth in the 1-meter, while in the 3-meter it was Harkness, Dreyer and then Hanneman behind Richeson.

Buckeyes Cruise Past Cincinnati
Ohio State defeated Cincinnati in its home opener Nov. 6 at the Mike Peppe Aquatic Center.

Tommy Seay claimed two events for the second time that week, taking the 50-yard freestyle and the 100-yard individual medley with times of 20.95 and 46.13, respectively. Rob Kauscher placed first in the 200-yard breaststroke event for the second time in as many days, and also took the 100-yard breaststroke.

Gary Grant placed first in the 100-yard butterfly, Nate King took the 500-yard freestyle and Ryan Sciortino won the 1,000-yard freestyle. Daniel Novak won the 200-yard butterfly in an exciting race that came down to the very last stroke.

Buckeyes Defeat Miami
The Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team kicked off the season with a 139-97 victory over Miami (Ohio) Nov. 5. The team won in 11 of the 13 events of the meet.

Tommy Seay claimed two events, winning the 100-yard freestyle and the 200-yard individual medley with times of 46.11 and 1:53.59, respectively. The team also swept the first three spots in the 1,000-yard freestyle and the first four spots in the 200-yard individual medley. Rob Kauscher placed first in the 200-yard breaststroke event in an exhibition timed race.

The underclassmen had a strong showing with wins in four events. Jason Adler won the 1,000-yard freestyle, Joe Doyle took the 200-yard freestyle, Gary Grant placed first in the 50-yard freestyle and Daniel Novak won the 200-yard backstroke.

The diving squad also made an impact, taking first and second in the 1-meter and the first three spots in the 3-meter event. Mitch Richeson won the 1-meter event with a score of 343.30. Kellen Harkness won the 3-meter event with a score of 333.30.

Alumni Meet
The annual alumni meet was held Oct. 23 for the last time in the Mike Peppe Aquatic Center. Former Ohio State swimmers and divers were invited to take a last dip in the pool before the team moves into the new Bill and Mae McCorkle Aquatic Center. Former Olympians, NCAA champions and Ohio State record holders returned to tour the new pool and enjoy some races in the old one. Following the meet a silent auction was held to benefit the new Hall of Fame foyer.

Scarlet and Gray Meet
The Buckeyes competed in their annual Scarlet vs. Gray intrasquad meet Oct. 22. Nathan King was the only dual-winner of the night with wins in the 500-yard freestyle and the 200-yard individual medley.

Coach Bill Wadley
Bill Wadley enters his 16th year as the men’s head swimming coach. He has compiled a record of 135-24 (.849) at the helm of the Buckeyes and a 159-34 (.823) overall career record. Wadley has coached 13 Olympians and his teams have been ranked in the NCAA Top 20 for 11 of the past 16 seasons. Producing more than 30 world ranked swimmers in his coaching career, 13 of his student-athletes have reached the Olympic level.

A seasoned coach, Wadley has represented the United States on numerous occasions. He has coached the 1986 Olympic Festival and the 1988 and 1992 Gold Medal teams comprised of top non-collegiate swimmers in preparation for the Olympics. In 1991, Wadley coached the U.S. team at the World University Games and in 1993 was coach of the U.S. National Team training camp.

Most recently, Wadley was the head men’s coach of the 1998 Goodwill Games team that broke seven Goodwill Games records.

About Coach Panzano
Vince Panzano is in his 27th year as coach of the Ohio State men’s and women’s diving teams. Panzano, who was named the 2004 Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year for the eighth time in his career, has produced one world champion, one junior world champion, two Olympic medalists, 22 U.S. Diving champions, 10 NCAA champions, 14 NCAA runners-up, 43 Big Ten champions and 66 NCAA All-Americans.

Up Next
The Buckeyes will travel to Athens, Ohio Jan. 15 to take on the Bobcats.