June 10, 2020

Buckeyes Place 16 on Academic All-B1G Team


COLUMBUS, Ohio – A total of 16 members of the Ohio State women’s hockey team have been named to the 2020 Academic All-Big Ten Team. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team, have been enrolled full time at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

The team continues to top itself with 16 honors this season, besting the 15 Buckeyes from 2019 and 13 from 2018. The 16 athletes to make the list this season include all eligible athletes from the roster.

Seniors Rebecca Freiburger, Elise Riemenschneider and Olivia Soares all earned recognition for the third time while graduate student Jincy Dunne received Academic All-Big Ten honors for the fourth time in her career.

The junior class of honorees includes five while the strong group of seven sophomores earned recognition in their first year of eligibility.


Women’s Hockey Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

Madison Bizal • So. • Sport Industry • Elk River, Minnesota

Andrea Braendli • So. • Psychology/Criminology & Criminal Justice • Zurich, Switzerland

Lisa Bruno • Jr. • Sport Industry • Whitby, Ontario

Jincy Dunne • Gr. • Sports Coaching • O’Fallon, Missouri

Rebecca Freiburger • Sr. • Exercise Science Education • Rochester, Minnesota

Sophie Jaques • So. • Civil Engineering • Toronto, Ontario

Paetyn Levis • So. • Pre-Health Science • Blaine, Minnesota

Emma Maltais • Jr. • Health Sciences • Burlington, Ontario

Elise Riemenschneider • Sr. • Communication • Rocky River, Ohio

Gabby Rosenthal • So. • Speech & Hearing Science • Blaine, Minnesota

Sara Saekkinen • So. • Sport Industry • Pirkkala, Finland

Eve Savander • So. • Sport Industry • Joensuu, Finland

Liz Schepers • Jr. • Health Sciences • Mound, Minnesota

Tatum Skaggs • Jr. • Special Education • Hartland, Wisconsin

Olivia Soares • Sr. • Sport Industry • Boston, Massachusetts

Lynsey Wallace • Jr. • Animal Sciences • Seven Hills, Ohio