January 11, 2023

Buckeyes Open Indoor Season at Rod McCravy Memorial


Ohio State at Rod McCravy Memorial

Dates: Friday, Jan. 13 and Saturday, Jan. 14, 2023

Venue: Nutter Field House (Lexington, Ky.)

Event: Rod McCravy Memorial | Meet Central | Live Results | SEC+ (Friday / Saturday)

Rosters: Ohio State women | Ohio State men


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State track & field team is set to begin the 2023 season at the Rod McCravy Memorial, hosted by the University of Kentucky, on Friday and Saturday. Admission and parking are both free with parking available in the Green Lot adjacent to Nutter Field House. The meet will be streamed live on SEC+.

On Friday, field events are scheduled to start at 1:30 p.m. ET with the high jump, while track events will start with the women’s 60m first round at 4 p.m. ET. On Saturday, the women’s shot put and triple jump competitions will start the day at 11 a.m. ET, while track events will begin at noon with the women’s semifinals of the 60m.

  • Adelaide Aquilla was named to the women’s preseason watch list for The Bowerman after finishing the 2022 season as a semifinalist for the award. Aquilla broke the women’s outdoor collegiate shot put record at the NCAA Championships to defend her title and was named outdoor regional and conference female field athlete of the year as well as a USTFCCCA All-American.
  • During the 2022 indoor season, both the Ohio State men and women finished second at the Big Ten Championships.
  • Tyler Johnson was named Big Ten Male Track Athlete of the Championships after winning the 200m (20.76) and 400m (45.31). Other Big Ten Champions on the men’s side included Luke Bendick on pole vault (5.45m) and Leo Uusimaki in the heptathlon (5,789 points, a program record).
  • Those three also earned themselves a spot on the USTFCCCA All-American Second Team for their performances at the NCAA Championships. Bendick finished ninth in the pole vault, Johnson was ninth in the 400m and Uusimaki was 13th in the heptathlon.
  • Aquilla and Anavia Battle were named Big Ten women’s indoor field and track (respectively) athletes of the championships and athletes of the year. Individually, Aquilla won the shot put competition (18.71m) and Battle won both the 60m (7.28) and 200m (22.39, the fourth-fastest time among collegiate women ever at time of competition). Jaimie Robinson took home the title in the triple jump (13.02m).
  • Aquilla and Battle earned a spot on the USTFCCCA All-American First Team, while Amaya Ugarte earned second-team honors by finishing 13th in the high jump.