January 6, 2023

Buckeyes Off to a Strong Start in the Classroom


COLUMBUS, Ohio – While the 2023 season is quickly approaching, the Ohio State men’s lacrosse team is already showing signs of a successful year with its performance in the classroom last fall.

In true Buckeye fashion, the men’s lacrosse team attacked the fall semester with relentless effort and purpose. For the 13th consecutive semester, the team earned an overall grade-point average of over 3.20. The Buckeyes finished the Autumn 2022 term with a 3.56 GPA.

“Ohio State offers not only an incredibly competitive environment for our men on the field, but also a first-class experience in academics with its resources and support available for students,” Ohio State head coach Nick Myers said. “I am proud of the work that our players put in this semester to maintain the standard of excellence that Buckeye Lacrosse has set in the classroom.”

In its first collegiate semester, this year’s freshman class showed a successful transition to Ohio State with nine posting GPAs of 3.7 or higher, including Sam Burns, Jonny Cool, Blake Eiland, Oran Gelinas, Tate Jones, Coleman Kraske, Griffin Liedel, Johnny Maccarone and Dillon Magee.

Eight student-athletes earned unblemished 4.0 records last fall, including Drew Blanchard, Kyle Borda, Sam Faber, Gelinas, Liedel, Connor Mitchell, Mitchell Sandberg and Colby Smith.

Overall, the program placed the second-most students in program history on the OSU Scholar-Athlete list. Forty-five men earned GPAs of 3.0 to earn the award last fall. The men’s lacrosse autumn OSU Scholar-Athletes are:

  • Ari Allen
  • Gavin Begonia
  • Henry Blake
  • Drew Blanchard
  • Kyle Borda
  • Dante Bowen
  • Cullen Brown
  • Sam Burns
  • James Cipolla
  • Connor Cmiel
  • Jonny Cool
  • Trent DiCicco
  • Blake Eiland
  • Sam Faber
  • Taji Flynn
  • Matthew Fritz
  • Oran Gelinas
  • Carter Hilleary
  • James Hogan
  • Marcus Hudgins
  • Tate Jones
  • Jason Knox
  • Coleman Kraske
  • Richie LaCalandra
  • Greg Langermeier
  • Kyle Lewis
  • Griffin Liedel
  • Johnny Maccarone
  • Dillon Magee
  • Alex Marinier
  • Noah Mendoza
  • Matt Mercer
  • Connor Mitchell
  • Jack Myers
  • Garrett Nilsen
  • Mitchell Pehlke
  • Carson Raney
  • Mitchell Sandberg
  • Ed Shean
  • Justin Sherrer
  • Colby Smith
  • Jacob Snyder
  • Bobby Van Buren
  • Skylar Wahlund
  • Stephen Zupicich