December 9, 2021

Buckeyes Name Team Awards for 2021


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s soccer team has named its team award winners for the 2021 fall season.

Midfielder Laurence Wootton, a sophomore captain from Halstead, England, and two-time first team All-Big Ten selection, was named the 2021 Most Valuable Player. He led the Buckeyes in goals (6), points (14), shots on goal (16) and he scored on both penalty kicks attempted this season. He also tied for the team lead in game-winning goals with two.

His efforts also earned him a spot on the United Soccer Coaches All-Region (North) Second Team.

Sophomore Owen Sullivan, a defender from Dublin, Ohio, was named the team’s 2021 Most Improved Player. He appeared in 10 games and recorded one assist in 870 minutes of playing time.

Senior Keagan McLaughlin, a goalkeeper from Zanesville, Ohio, who transferred to Ohio State from Notre Dame prior to the fall season, played in nine games for the Buckeyes, recording 29 saves in 800 minutes between the posts. He earned the Connor Senn Award for his efforts.

The award honors the late Connor Senn, a walk-on player who through his hard work became a starter. He tragically died of a heart condition during a match in 2001 at Akron Sept. 26, 2001.

The award is voted upon by the team and is given to the teammate who goes above-and-beyond and is always there to help the team in any way needed.


Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes