COLUMBUS, Ohio – Seniors Bryant Browning, Cameron Heyward, Ross Homan, Brian Rolle, Brandon Saine and Dane Sanzenbacher were elected as 2010 captains of the Ohio State football team, as announced to the squad today. 

This is just the second time in Ohio State’s 121-season football history that six Buckeyes will serve as season-long leaders for the squad. In 1982, Glen Cobb, Jerome Foster, Joe Lukens, Marcus Marek, Tim Spencer and Gary Williams served as captains; the Buckeyes elected five captains for the 1974, 1989 and 1990 campaigns.

“I’m very happy. I really felt honored when it was announced,” said Browning, an offensive guard from Glenville High in Cleveland with 27 career starts. “I have tried to be a leader throughout my career. I hope this shows that my teammates appreciate what I have done. Now I am hoping to be one of the leaders of a great team, a championship team.”

“A leader has a responsibility to take care of business, so now I have to step up to the plate,” said Heyward, a product of Peachtree Ridge High School in Suwanee, Ga., and a preseason All-American on the defensive line. “This is one of those honors you think about since you were a kid, being captain of your team. It’s a tremendous feeling.”

“I’m excited and humbled,” said Homan, a linebacker from Coldwater High in Coldwater, Ohio, who was the Buckeyes’ leading tackler last season and has 215 career stops. “But because I’m a captain, my role won’t change. I want to still be the same hard-working person.”

“When I look at the other seniors on this team, this is such a great honor,” said Rolle, a linebacker from Immokalee, Fla., who has recorded 134 career tackles at Ohio State. “It’s quite an honor to think that my teammates recognize how hard I’ve worked. I’m looking forward to a great season.”

“I was surprised to hear my name called,” said Saine, a tailback from Piqua High in Piqua, Ohio, who has rushed for 1,071 career yards as a Buckeye. “I just want to lead by example and try to do things right.”

“It’s a real honor to be mentioned among these great leaders,” said Sanzenbacher, a wide receiver with 69 career catches from Toledo Central Catholic in Toledo, Ohio. “I don’t think it will change much for me; I just want to continue to contribute to this program any way I can.”

The 2010 Buckeyes open the season Thursday, September 2, hosting Marshall in a 7:30 p.m. game at Ohio Stadium. That contest will be televised by the Big Ten Network.