May 14, 2017

Buckeyes Make it Five Straight Big Ten Championships


May 14, 2017

Columbus, Ohio – For the fifth straight year, the Ohio State women’s rowing team is bringing the Big Ten trophy back to Columbus. Entering the final race of the day, the First Varsity Eight, it was a winner take all showdown between two of the premier boats in the Big Ten, the Buckeyes and Michigan, and Ohio State prevailed as the victor. The 1V8 squad – Cassandra Johnson, Anne Dietrich, Alice Riley, Bridget Schodorf, Aina Cid I Centelles, Rachel Engel, Stephanie Williams, Ida Kruse and Cassidey Jenney (coxswain) – secured the team title with a time of 6:08.79 to edge the Wolverines (6:11.19).


“Both Ohio State and Michigan showed how great our programs are today,” head coach Andy Teitelbaum said. “It was awesome to watch both programs lay it out the way we did event after event. We were really fortunate to grab the victory in the First Varsity Eight. It’s a great day to be a Buckeye.”

In fitting fashion, the No. 5 Buckeyes and No. 4 Michigan duked it out all morning long on the waters of Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis on Sunday. The Buckeyes ended up with 180 team points, narrowly nipping Michigan by one point (179 points). Entering the final race of the day, Ohio State trailed Michigan by eight points (116-108), but the win by the 1V8 boosted the Buckeyes ahead for the title.

Ohio State won three boat titles on the morning: the aforementioned 1V8, the 2V4 and the 2N8. The rest of the boats (2V8, 1V4, 3V4 and 1N8) all earned silvers to earn crucial points. The Buckeyes’ times in the Second Varsity Four and First Varsity Eight rank first and third in Big Ten Championships history, respectively.

The Second Varsity Four of Ashley Saba, Kimberleigh Warriner, Chelsea Harpool, Kaylee Koker and Helen Sudhoff (coxswain) kept the 2V4’s undefeated record intact with a resounding win over Michigan. The Buckeyes crossed the finish line with a time of 6:58.77, more than 2.5 seconds ahead of the Wolverines. The 2V4 now owns a 9-0 record in 2017 (31-0 overall).

The Second Novice Eight – Olivia Kwiecinski, Madison Sheahan, Kylie Sturgill, Kristin Hoying, Michayla Binkley, Megan Anderson, Ginger Brosnahan, Jeanette Garder and Julia Linares (coxswain) – got the regatta started with a wire-to-wire victory with a time of 6:53.34 over Wisconsin (6:59.52), Michigan (7:11.05) and Iowa (7:16.58).

The 2V8 was neck and neck the whole 2,000 meters. The Second Varsity Eight fought hard and placed second with a time of 6:16.73 to finish second behind Michigan and keep Ohio State within striking distance.

In the 1V4, the Buckeyes were in a three-way clash for the win and it resulted in a second-place finish. Ohio State finished with a time of 7:01.16, less than three seconds behind Michigan (6:58.22), who came away as the victor.

Ohio State held a three second lead at the 1,000m mark, but was unable to hold off the Wolverines in the 3V4. Michigan wound up winning with a time of 7:04.93 and Ohio State crossed the finish line in second with a time of 7:09.98.

In the First Novice Eight, .2 seconds separated Ohio State and Michigan at the halfway marker of the race. Michigan would pull away to win with a time of 6:36.90 and the Buckeyes followed in second with a readout of 6:39.53 for second place (14 points). 

Ohio State at the Big Ten Championships
The Buckeyes now own eight conference titles, with over half of them coming in each of the last five years on a dominant run. The Scarlet and Gray has also captured team titles in 2011, 2006 and 2002.

First Team All-Big Ten
Emily Barber, Indiana
Cristy Hartman, Iowa
Kate Wright, Michigan
Kendall Brewer, Michigan
Bri Higgins, Michigan State
Anna Greene, Minnesota
Ida Kruse, Ohio State
Stephanie Williams, Ohio State
Rachel Engel, Ohio State
Sarah Johanek, Rutgers
Maria Schmid, Wisconsin 

Second Team All-Big Ten
Emily Fekete, Indiana
Hanna Henry, Indiana
Ashley Duda, Iowa
Tessa Yurko, Michigan
Louisa Freeman, Michigan
Monica Hessler, Michigan State
Rylie Wargo, Minnesota
Aina Cid, Ohio State
Cassandra Johnson, Ohio State
Onyeka Oguagha, Rutgers
Maddie Wanamaker, Wisconsin 

Ohio State Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Abigail Ernst, Ohio State


First Varsity Eight (8-4 W/L by Race, 31-4 Overall)

  1. Ohio State – 6:08.79
  2. Michigan – 6:11.19
  3. Indiana – 6:15.44
  4. Iowa – 6:16.52
  5. Wisconsin – 6:22.67
  6. Michigan State – 6:23.85
  7. Minnesota – 6:3.43
  8. Rutgers – 6:44.56 

Cassandra Johnson
Anne Dietrich
Alice Riley
Bridget Schodorf
Aina Cid I Centelles
Rachel Engel
Stephanie Williams
Ida Kruse
Coxswain – Cassidy Jenney

Second Varsity Eight (7-5 W/L by Race, 29-6 Overall)

  1. Michigan – 6:14.50
  2. Ohio State – 6:16.73
  3. Wisconsin – 6:22.14
  4. Iowa – 6:23.42
  5. Indiana – 6:27.78
  6. Michigan State – 6:32.86
  7. Minnesota – 6:34.60
  8. Rutgers – 7:05.66 

Stephanie Gase
Catherine McNutt
Maddie Perrett
Sarah Peffley
Annie Jachthuber
Sandra Dinter
Morgan Hummel
Allyson Baker
Coxswain – Anjali Fernandes

First Varsity Four (8-4 W/L by Race, 30-4 Overall)

  1. Mich – 6:58.22
  2. OSU – 7:01.16
  3. Wis – 7:02.92
  4. MSU – 7:11.25
  5. Ind – 7:15.67
  6. Iowa – 7:18.53
  7. Minn – 7:21.80 

Hanna Gottschalk
Joan Darnell
Abby Ernst
Kendell Massier
Coxswain – Emma Warns 

Second Varsity Four (9-0 W/L by Race, 31-0 Overall)

  1. Ohio State – 6:58.77
  2. Michigan – 7:01.63
  3. Wisconsin – 7:08.91
  4. Michigan State – 7:21.91
  5. Iowa – 7:27.27
  6. Indiana – 7:31.47
  7. Minnesota – 7:33.49
  8. Rutgers – 8:04.43

Ashley Saba
Kimberleigh Warriner
Chelsea Harpool
Kaylee Koker
Coxswain – Helen Sudhoff

Third Varsity Four (3-3 W/L by Race, 10-3 Overall)

  1. Michigan – 7:04.93
  2. Ohio State – 7:09.98
  3. Minnesota – 7:24.86
  4. Wisconsin – 7:27.04
  5. Michigan State – 7:34.50
  6. Iowa – 7:41.02
  7. Indiana – 7:42.38 

Laura Monteso Esmel
Bianca Piloseno
Daphne Socha
Hannah Hites
Coxswain – Meghan Mahoney

First Novice Eight (3-6 W/L by Race, 24-9 Overall)

  1. Michigan – 6:36.90
  2. Ohio State – 6:39.53
  3. Wisconsin – 6:46.15
  4. Iowa – 6:47.36
  5. Indiana – 6:51.59
  6. Minnesota – 6:54.49
  7. Rutgers – 7:10.66
  8. Michigan State – 10:36.83 

Katie Kreczmer
Sheridan Cleave
Sierra Tiede
Cara Walterbusch
Grace Libben
Olivia Carter
Bailey Spees
Maddie Frendberg
Coxswain – Cameron Garcia

Second Novice Eight (2-4 W/L by Race, 8-4 Overall)

  1. #Buckeyes – 6:53.34
  2. Wisconsin – 6:59.52
  3. Michigan – 7:11.05
  4. Iowa – 7:16.58 

Olivia Kwiecinski
Madison Sheahan
Kylie Sturgill
Kristin Hoying
Michayla Binkley
Megan Anderson
Ginger Brosnahan
Jeanette Gardner
Coxswain – Julia Linares