March 1, 2011
Vote for Lighty:
No. 1 Ohio State (27-2, 14-2) at Penn State (15-12, 8-8)
 Bryce Jordan Center (15,261)
Game Time: 9 p.m. ET
Television: Big Ten Network
Talent: Gus Johnson (play-by-play), Jim Jackson (expert analysis), Charissa Thompson (Sideline)
Radio: OSU Radio Network (60 stations)
Satellite Radio: Sirius-122, XM-143
Local Radio: WBNS FM-97.1 AM-1460
Radio Talent: Paul Keels (play-by-play), Ron Stokes (expert analysis)

Buckeyes Return to No. 1 in Both Polls
 Ohio State travels to Penn State for a 9 p.m. game vs. the Nittany Lions on Big Ten Network Tuesday. The Buckeyes are ranked No. 1 in both the Associated Press and ESPN/USA Today Coaches polls this week after spending two weeks at No. 2 in AP and No. 3 in the coaches poll. The Buckeyes were No. 1 in both polls for four weeks earlier this season. Ohio State is 65-5 when ranked No. 1 in the AP Poll and 17-3 as the nation’s top team in the coaches poll. Ohio State was ranked No. 1 previously in a game vs. the Nittany Lions, a 92-49 OSU victory Dec. 23, 1961. The highest ranking for an Ohio State team in a game at Penn State was No. 2 Feb. 14, 2007, a 64-62 victory for the Buckeyes. Ohio State is 4-1 as a ranked team at Penn State.

Ohio State in National Rankings
 Ohio State is tied for the No. 1 spot for best won-lost percentage at 93.1 percent (27-2). BYU, Kansas and San Diego State share the same record to date. The Buckeyes are No. 2 national in fewest fouls per game (14.4) and No. 3 in field goal percentage (.493), assist-to-turnover ratio (+1.53) and turnover margin (+5.7). Ohio State is No. 4 nationally in scoring margin (+17.7) and No. 6 in fewest turnovers per game (10.5). Jon Diebler is No. 7 nationally in 3-point shooting percentage (.470).

Sullinger Finalist for Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Award
 Jared Sullinger is among the 10 student-athletes selected by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association as finalists for the 2011 Oscar Robertson Player of the Year award, the organization announced Feb. 28. Purdue’s JuJuan Johnson also is among the finalists. Jimmer Fredette (BYU), Jordan Hamilton (Texas), Terrence Jones (Kentucky), Marcus Morris (Kansas), Kyle Singler (Duke), Nolan Smith (Duke), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and Derrick Williams (Arizona) are the other finalists. Ohio State’s Evan Turner won the 2010 award. The presentation of the award this year will take place April 1 at the USBWA’s annual awards breakfast at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston in conjunction with the NCAA Men’s Final Four. The breakfast also will honor the winner of the Henry Iba Award, the association’s coach of the year and will announce the winner of the first Wayman Tisdale National Freshman of the Year Award.

Sullinger Finalist for Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year award
 The U.S. Basketball Writers Association selected five outstanding first-year players as finalists for the 2011 Wayman Tisdale Award, to be presented to the men’s National Freshman of the Year at a gala banquet April 11 at the Skirvin Hotel in Oklahoma City. The announcement of the winner will come at the USBWA Awards Breakfast April 1 in Houston in conjunction with the NCAA Men’s Final Four.
 Ohio State’s Jared Sullinger (Columbus, Ohio), Kentucky teammates Terrence Jones (Portland, Ore.) and Brandon Knight (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) join Baylor’s Perry Jones III (Duncanville, Texas), and Texas’ Tristan Thompson (Brampton, Ontario) as the 2011 Wayman Tisdale Award finalists.

Buckeyes Building Record Season
 The 27-win total is tied for the No. 3 spot in Ohio State history for overall wins in a season. The total also is tied  for the No. 1 spot in regular seasons wins in a season with the 2006-07 team that finished with a 27-3 record before going 8-1 in postseason competition. The 1961 and 1991 teams posted 27 victories. Thad Matta teams own four of the top eight single season win totals in Ohio State history.
 The Buckeyes’ 29-8 overall record last season was the second best record in Ohio State history behind the 35 victories recorded in 2006-07. Thad Matta teams have never failed to win at least 20 games.
Year Wins Postseason
2006-07 35 NCAA Finals
2009-10 29 NCAA Reg. Semifinals
2010-11 27 
1960-61 27 NCAA Finals
1990-91 27 NCAA Reg. Semifinals
2005-06 26 NCAA Second Round
1991-92 26 NCAA Regional Finals
1961-62 26 NCAA Finala

Diebler Sets Big Ten Record
Senior Jon Diebler became the Big Ten’s all-time leader in made 3-pointers with a pair of triples at Purdue Feb. 20. The sharpshooter from Upper Sandusky, Ohio, has made 338 career 3s. He has averaged 2.5 made 3s a game for his 136-game career. Ohio State has a minimum of three games remaining, two in the regular-season and at least one in the Big Ten tournament. 
Big Ten Career 3-point leaders
1. 336  Jon Diebler, OSU  2008-
2.  332  Pete Lisicky, PSU  1994-98
3.  331  Shawn Respert, MSU  1991-95
4.  327  Cory Bradford, ILL  1998-2002
5.  320  Craig Moore, NU  2006-09
6.  308  Joe Crispin, PSU  1998-2001
7.  299  Dee Brown, ILL  2002-06
8.  283  A.J. Guyton, IND  1997-2000
9.  271  Drew Neitzel, MSU  2004-08
10.  268  Dion Harris, MICH  2003-07

Sullinger reaches 500
There have been 29 Buckeyes all-time to score more than 500 points in a season with Jerry Lucas and Michael Redd leading the pack each with three 500-plus point seasons. Paul Ebert was the first to do so when he tallied 516 points during the 1953-54 season. Freshman Jared Sullinger added his name to the list (504/2010-11) with five points vs. Indiana Feb. 27. Kosta Koufos was the last Ohio State freshman to reach 500 points in a rookie season. He tallied 534 as a freshman in 2008-09. Evan Turner (632/2009-10) and William Buford (532/2009-10) each scored more than 500 points last season. Only Michael Redd (658/1998-99), Sullinger, Koufos and Greg Oden (501/2006-07) reached the 500-point mark as Ohio State freshmen.

Lighty one of 10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Finalists
David Lighty was named one of 10 finalists for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in men’s basketball Jan. 26. Fan voting is underway. One-third of the award will be determined by fan voting. Coaches and media make up the other two-thirds. Fans can vote online at The award is presented each year to the outstanding senior NCAA Division I Student-Athlete of the Year across nine different sports. The acronym “CLASS” stands for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®. The Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award celebrates the loyalty of seniors that honor a four-year commitment to their university. The Senior CLASS Award® recognizes these student-athletes for great achievement during competition and in their community while staying in school.

The Ohio State, Penn State Series
Ohio State leads the all-time series with the Nittany Lions 25-12. Ohio State is 9-7 vs. Penn State in State College, Pa. The  Buckeyes have won the last 14 meetings vs. the Nittany Lions, including the last five at the Bryce Jordan Center. As a ranked team, Ohio State is 12-2 in games vs. Penn State, including wins in the last eight meetings as a ranked team.
 Junior William Buford averages 23.8 points in four career meetings vs. the Nittany Lions to lead the Buckeyes in the PSU series. Jon Diebler contributes 9.4 points in five games while freshmen Jared Sullinger and Aaron Craft scored 19 points in their debut meeting vs. Penn State earlier this season. Dallas Lauderdale averages 4.8 rebounds a game in the series to lead the Ohio State veterans in that category. Sullinger grabbed six boards in the Buckeye victory in January. 

Ohio State vs. the Big Ten
Illinois 64-99
Indiana 74-99
Iowa 69-73
Michigan 89-71
Michigan State 51-58
Minnesota 78-55
Northwestern 108-45
Penn State 25-12
Purdue 76-83
Wisconsin 81-65
Total 715-660

For more on the Ohio State at Penn State game go to Ohio State Notes link above.