Ohio State heading to West Regional at Stanford May 6-8

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s golf team received the fourth seed in its 16th-consecutive bid to a regional when the NCAA selection committee announced the 72 teams and nine individuals that comprise the 2010 NCAA Tournament field Monday. The 23rd-ranked Buckeyes will travel to Stanford, Calif., to compete in the West Regional May 6-8.

Of the 24 teams competing out west, Ohio State has faced 13 of them previously this season and has a winning record against 10 of the squads. The Buckeyes will be the lone Big Ten team in that regional along with Minnesota’s Teresa Puga who will compete as an individual.

The four other league teams in the NCAA tournament – Purdue, Michigan State, Northwestern and Indiana – will face each other in the Central Regional hosted by the Hoosiers in Bloomington, Ind. Michigan’s Ashley Bauer also will contend in that section as an individual.

The top 8 teams and two individuals from each of the three regionals will advance to the 2010 NCAA Championships, held May 18-21 at the Country Club of Landfall and hosted by UNC-Wilmington.

Last year, Ohio State finished seventh while hosting the NCAA Central Regional at Scarlet Course in Columbus to advance to the NCAA championship for the first time since 2005.

The Buckeyes enter the 2010 regional with a third-place finish last weekend at the Big Ten championships.  They won their own Lady Buckeye Spring Invitational to conclude the regular season and have finished in the top 5 as a team in eight of 10 tournaments this season.

The complete NCAA tournament field can be found on  

NCAA West Regional Field

The West regional will be played May 6-8 at the Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, California hosted by Stanford University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

2. Alabama (Southeastern Conference)
3. Arizona (Pacific-10 Conference)
4. Ohio State
5. Virginia
6. Stanford
7. LSU
8. California
9. Texas A&M (Big 12 Conference)
10. Texas
11. UC Davis (Big West Conference)
12. Arkansas
13. UNLV
14. San Jose State (Western Athletic Conference)
15. San Francisco
16. Idaho
17. UC Irvine
18. Iowa State
19. Maryland
20. Colorado State
21. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)
22. Texas State (Southland Conference)
23. Pennsylvania (Ivy Group)
24. Portland State (Big Sky Conference)

1. Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
2. Teresa Puga, Minnesota
3. Ellen Mueller, Oklahoma