July 9, 2014

2013-14 Distinguished Scholar List 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State placed a conference-high 88 student-athletes representing 30 sports on the 2014 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars list, released Wednesday by the Big Ten Conference. Student-athletes on the list must be letterwinners in at least their second year at their school and earn a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year. A total of 683 Big Ten athletes from 37 sports were recognized.

The Buckeyes women’s track and field program led the way with eight honorees, followed by women’s rowing with seven and men’s and women’s swimming and diving with six apiece. Thirteen Buckeyes posted perfect 4.0 grade-point averages over the year – Tim Wetzel (Baseball), Aaron Craft (Men’s Basketball), Martina Ellerbe (Women’s Basketball), Sophia Pifer (Field Hockey), Maria Swartz (Field Hockey), Michael Newburger (Men’s Gymnastics), Rachael Mullaney (Women’s Rifle and Pistol), Nicole Becks (Women’s Rowing), Andrew Braun (Men’s Swimming and Diving), Alex Norris (Women’s Swimming and Diving), Katie Borchers (Women’s Track and Field), Ivy Horn (Women’s Track and Field) and Minori Minagawa (Women’s Track and Field).

For the 2013-14 academic year, 511 Buckeyes were named Ohio State Scholar-Athletes and 329 earned Academic All-Big Ten selections, the second-highest total in school history.