January 10, 2019

Buckeyes Kick off 2019 Season with Home Meet


It’s Synchro Season!

The defending national champion Synchronized Swimming team will open their season with a home meet Saturday welcoming the University of Michigan and Wheaton College to Columbus. The Lyons finished sixth in the rankings for the Overall Institution Award at last year’s national championship while the Wolverines placed 16th. This will be the second meet of the season for Wheaton, which kicked off its campaign back in November. Michigan will be getting in the pool for the first time this year.

This year’s Zero Waste Invitational marks the 3rd annual event of its kind. This event is another step in a sustainable direction for the University as it aims to achieve zero waste by 2025 by diverting 90% of waste away from landfills. The synchronized swimming program joined the movement and adopted the initiative in 2017. This mission has deep roots within the program as Tori Baron, a former Buckeye synchronized swimmer, was inspired by the dedication of the university to make every home football game zero waste. This sparked an idea of her own to bring the sustainability consciousness to McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. Translating the idea of zero waste to her own sport, the Zero Waste Invitational was created. With the support of Athletics Director, Gene Smith, and other organizations on campus, the synchronized swimming team is helping advance sustainability efforts within the athletics department and university as a whole.


Ohio State Buckeyes

Six synchronized swimmers are entering their senior seasons at Ohio State — Rachel Warren, Elizabeth Walsh, Stephanie Thielemann, Lane Starrett, Alex Meredith-Le Roux and Wenjing Deng. These seniors have been a part of two national championship squads during their collegiate careers and have experienced tremendous success in the classroom, pool and community.

Ohio State Buckeyes

Nine new Buckeye student-athletes were welcomed to both the Ohio State campus and synchronized swimming program in August — Camryn Carrasco, Nikki Dzurko, Erin Fanning, Ava Lichter, Paula Luis, Cassie Neeley, Trinity Patton, Kristin Stremlaw and Haley Watson. These fresh faces have quickly made an impact and added significant talent and experience to the roster. Be on the lookout for these individuals during the 2019 campaign.

The event will host technical events and a solo, duet, and trio competition with technical events beginning at 10:00 a.m. and the routine competition kicking off at 2:00 p.m.

Ohio State Buckeyes