January 14, 2020

Buckeyes in the NFL – Divisional Round

Ohio State Buckeyes

Big Time Bosa

San Francisco rookie DE Nick Bosa played like a veteran Saturday, his first career postseason game. Well-rested after a first-round bye, “Smaller Bear” played a huge role and became this game’s most dominant defender. With six solo tackles, two sacks, two tackles for loss, and a pass deflection, Bosa supplied another stellar effort, and San Francisco stomped the Vikings, 27-10. Next week brings the biggest game of his career: the NFC Championship, hosted by the 49ers. (Image courtesy: 49ers.com)

Ohio State Buckeyes

Remember the Titans

A week ago, Tennessee handed the Patriots just their fourth home playoff loss under Bill Belichick. How does Titans’ HC Mike Vrabel even top that? Simple. He and his Titans go into Baltimore to take down the best regular season team in Ravens history, which also happens to have this season’s surefire MVP under center. That scenario played out exactly on Saturday night, and sixth-seeded Tennessee celebrated a 28-12 W. Stealing possessions via turnovers and a ground-and-pound grinding of opposing defenses has spelled success for the Titans. That style will need to be sustained in the AFC Championship game when Vrabel and co. travel to Kansas City. (Image courtesy: @thecheckdown on Twitter)

Ohio State Buckeyes

Chaos in K.C.

Speaking of Kansas City, an epic comeback took place at Arrowhead Stadium Sunday afternoon. The invading Texans owned a 24-0 lead before the Chiefs responded with seven-straight touchdown drives and eventually won the game, 51-31. Despite the inconsistencies on Houston’s D, CB’s Bradley Roby and Gareon Conley saw some success in press man coverage and combined for nine solo tackles. Conley also pitched in a sack and a TFL, for good measure. Offensively for the Texans, RB Carlos Hyde registered 16 touches (13 carries, three catches) for 62 total yards. After the best season of his NFL career, Hyde hopes Sunday’s game isn’t his last with Houston. (Image courtesy: houstontexans.com)

Ohio State Buckeyes

Pack Attack

There’s no doubt Green Bay boasts one of the best offensive units in the game. There’s also no doubt its front-line protection plays a big part. That’s where C Corey Linsley and his fellow O-Linemen come into play, and in Sunday evening’s win over Seattle, the Packers’ trenchmen paved the way for more than 350 total yards of offense. Not to mention Green Bay’s big fellas allowed only two sacks against a notoriously tough Seahawks pass rush. Linsley graded out highest among all Packers linemen, according to Pro Football Focus, and faces the tall task of protecting against San Francisco in next week’s NFC Championship. (Images courtesy: packers.com)

Time to Crown Conference Champs!

And then there were four – referring to both teams and former Buckeyes left in the NFL Playoffs. Though, I suppose you could count Titans’ assistant Kerry Coombs, who’s continued impact on Vrabel’s staff continues to pay dividends. In the AFC Title, Tennessee’s rushing attack squares off with a stout Kansas City defense that includes former Buckeye LB Darron Lee. In the NFC, Nick Bosa and the top-ranked 49ers host Linsley and the Packers. Both games are rematches from the regular season. San Francisco clobbered Green Bay 37-8 on Nov. 24, two weeks after Tennessee pulled out a 35-32 W in Kansas City. Regardless of who you’re pulling for going forward, let’s all rejoice in this fact: one way or another, at least one former Buckeye will be crowned a Super Bowl LIV champ.

Titans @ Chiefs

Sunday 1/19, 3:05 p.m. – CBS

Packers @ 49ers

Sunday 1/19, 6:40 p.m. – FOX

Active Buckeyes on 2019 NFL Team Rosters

AFC East

Buffalo Bills
Kurt Coleman (2006-09)

Miami Dolphins
Jerome Baker (2015-17)
Raekwon McMillan (2014-16)
Isaiah Prince (2015-18)

New England Patriots
Nate Ebner (2009-11)
John Simon (2009-12)

AFC North

Cincinnati Bengals
Sam Hubbard (2015-17)
Michael Jordan (2016-18)
Billy Price (2014-17)

Cleveland Browns
Denzel Ward (2015-17)

Pittsburgh Steelers
Cameron Heyward (2007-10)
Ryan Shazier* (2011-13)
Nick Vannett (2012-15)

AFC South

Houston Texans
Gareon Conley (2014-16)
Johnnie Dixon (2014-18)
Carlos Hyde (2010-13)
Bradley Roby (2011-13)

Indianapolis Colts
Parris Campbell (2015-18)
Malik Hooker (2014-16)
Tyquan Lewis (2014-17)

Jacksonville Jaguars
Andrew Norwell (2010-13)

AFC West

Denver Broncos
Jeff Heuerman (2011-14)
Dre'Mont Jones (2015-18)

Kansas City Chiefs
Darron Lee (2013-15)

Los Angeles Chargers
Joey Bosa (2013-15)

Oakland Raiders
Jonathan Hankins (2010-12)

NFC East

Dallas Cowboys
Noah Brown* (2014-16)
Ezekiel Elliott (2013-15)
Devin Smith (2011-14)
Mike Weber^ (2015-18)

New York Giants
Rod Smith* (2011-14)

Philadelphia Eagles
Malcolm Jenkins (2005-08)
Cameron Johnston (2013-16)

Washington Redskins
Dwayne Haskins (2016-18)
Terry McLaurin (2015-18)

NFC North

Detroit Lions
Taylor Decker (2012-15)

Green Bay Packers
Corey Linsley (2010-13)

Minnesota Vikings
Pat Elflein (2013-16)
Jalyn Holmes (2014-17)

NFC West

Arizona Cardinals
Dante Booker^ (2014-18)
Johnnie Dixon^ (2014-18)

Los Angeles Rams
Jake McQuaide (2008-10)

San Francisco 49ers
Nick Bosa (2016-18)

Seattle Seahawks
Jamarco Jones (2014-17)
Demetrius Knox* (2015-18)

NFC South

Atlanta Falcons
Michael Bennett* (2011-14)
Kendall Sheffield (2017-18)

Carolina Panthers
Curtis Samuel (2014-16)

New Orleans Saints
Eli Apple (2013-15)
Vonn Bell (2013-15)
Ted Ginn Jr. (2004-06)
Marshon Lattimore (2014-16)
Michael Thomas (2012-15)