January 21, 2020

Buckeyes in the NFL – Conference Championships


“Smaller Bear” Still Shining

A season after winning just four games, DE Nick Bosa and the 49ers are heading to the Super Bowl. Of course, the rookie Bosa didn’t suit up for that four-win San Fran squad, but his presence this entire season has given the 49ers exactly the boost they needed. In Sunday’s NFC Championship against the Packers, PFWA’s Rookie of the Year had four total tackles – two solo and two assisted – to go along with a sack and a tackle for loss. Green Bay’s O-Line, led by former Buckeye C Corey Linsley, struggled to contain Bosa and the rest of San Fran’s pass rush, which has proven to be perhaps the NFL’s best. It will be on full display in Super Bowl LIV in two weeks. (Image courtesy: 49ers.com)

Final: 49ers 37, Packers 20

Titans, a Tough Out

Tennessee’s Cinderella run to the Super Bowl, spearheaded by HC Mike Vrabel, ended Sunday at the hands of Kansas City. A Chiefs defense that includes former Buckeye LB Darron Lee did enough to stop the Titans’ rushing attack and end a legendary stretch. Vrabel will most certainly receive Coach of the Year votes. After winning seven of the regular season’s last 10 games, making a bold quarterback change, drawing up some very innovative play calls, and earning postseason victories over New England and Baltimore on the road, those votes are well-deserved. Meanwhile, Lee will contribute to a Kansas City team playing in its first Super Bowl in 50 years. (Images courtesy: titansonline.com)

Final: Chiefs 35, Titans 24

Super Bowl LIV

Kansas City Chiefs vs. San Francisco 49ers

Miami, Fla. | Sunday, Feb. 2 | 6:30 p.m. EST | FOX

Folks … this one is gonna be a doozy. The league’s most high-octane offense against its grittiest defense. Either Bosa or Lee will be crowned a Super Bowl Champion for the first time in their young careers. Tune in February 2nd for the biggest television event of the year.

Active Buckeyes on 2019 NFL Team Rosters

AFC East

Buffalo Bills
Kurt Coleman (2006-09)

Miami Dolphins
Jerome Baker (2015-17)
Raekwon McMillan (2014-16)
Isaiah Prince (2015-18)

New England Patriots
Nate Ebner (2009-11)
John Simon (2009-12)

AFC North

Cincinnati Bengals
Sam Hubbard (2015-17)
Michael Jordan (2016-18)
Billy Price (2014-17)

Cleveland Browns
Denzel Ward (2015-17)

Pittsburgh Steelers
Cameron Heyward (2007-10)
Ryan Shazier* (2011-13)
Nick Vannett (2012-15)

AFC South

Houston Texans
Gareon Conley (2014-16)
Johnnie Dixon (2014-18)
Carlos Hyde (2010-13)
Bradley Roby (2011-13)

Indianapolis Colts
Parris Campbell (2015-18)
Malik Hooker (2014-16)
Tyquan Lewis (2014-17)

Jacksonville Jaguars
Andrew Norwell (2010-13)

AFC West

Denver Broncos
Jeff Heuerman (2011-14)
Dre'Mont Jones (2015-18)

Kansas City Chiefs
Darron Lee (2013-15)

Los Angeles Chargers
Joey Bosa (2013-15)

Oakland Raiders
Jonathan Hankins (2010-12)

NFC East

Dallas Cowboys
Noah Brown* (2014-16)
Ezekiel Elliott (2013-15)
Devin Smith (2011-14)
Mike Weber^ (2015-18)

New York Giants
Rod Smith* (2011-14)

Philadelphia Eagles
Malcolm Jenkins (2005-08)
Cameron Johnston (2013-16)

Washington Redskins
Dwayne Haskins (2016-18)
Terry McLaurin (2015-18)

NFC North

Detroit Lions
Taylor Decker (2012-15)

Green Bay Packers
Corey Linsley (2010-13)

Minnesota Vikings
Pat Elflein (2013-16)
Jalyn Holmes (2014-17)

NFC West

Arizona Cardinals
Dante Booker^ (2014-18)
Johnnie Dixon^ (2014-18)

Los Angeles Rams
Jake McQuaide (2008-10)

San Francisco 49ers
Nick Bosa (2016-18)

Seattle Seahawks
Jamarco Jones (2014-17)
Demetrius Knox* (2015-18)

NFC South

Atlanta Falcons
Michael Bennett* (2011-14)
Kendall Sheffield (2017-18)

Carolina Panthers
Curtis Samuel (2014-16)

New Orleans Saints
Eli Apple (2013-15)
Vonn Bell (2013-15)
Ted Ginn Jr. (2004-06)
Marshon Lattimore (2014-16)
Michael Thomas (2012-15)