COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 8 Ohio State men’s swimming team sits in second-place after the first day of swimming at the seven-team Purdue Invitational in West Lafayette, Ind. The Buckeyes have 211 points and only trail the host Boilermakers, who have 295. Louisville is third with 154.

The Buckeyes were powered by the efforts of their 200 individual medley swimmers. Seven of them scored points in the event and five swam in the championship final. Senior Justin Farra swam about three seconds faster in the final than he did in prelims and won the event with a time of 1:48.94. Sophomore Tim Phillips was fourth in 1:52.39 and junior Austin Mudd was fifth in 1:52.55. Ben Savonen (sixth), Phil Seleskie, Markus Sievers (10th) and Elliott Keefer (15th) also scored in the event.

Coach Bill Wadley’s Buckeyes also pulled out a win in the 400 medley relay. The team of junior Andrew Elliott, Farra, Quincy Lee and Phillips took first in a time of 3:15.75.

The 200 free relay team of sophomore Jason Schnur, Lincoln Fahrbach, Zach Holmes and Phillips opened the meet with a second-place swim in 1:21.86.

Fahrbach led three scorers in the 50 freestyle with a sixth-place time of 20.77. Schnur was eighth and sophomore Zach Birnbrich was 13th.

The 500 freestyle swimmers produced four points scorers, with junior Brent Hitchcock’s 3:32.26 time good for seventh. Consolation finalists were freshman Alex Miller, senior Tom O’Neill and sophomore Luke Stirton. 

The three-day meet, which is run in the NCAA championships format, continues throughout the weekend at the Purdue Aquatic Center.

Men’s Swimming & Diving

Purdue Invitational

Friday, Nov. 19, 2010

West Lafayette, Ind

Purdue Aquatic Center

Team Scores: 

1. Purdue 295, 2. Ohio State 211, 3. Louisville 154, 4. Southern Illinois 126, 5. Missouri State 97, 6. Cincinnati 56, 7. Michigan 24

Ohio State Results: 200 free relay – 2. Schnur, Fahrbach, Holmes, Phillips (1:21.86); 500 freestyle – 7. Hitchcock (4:32.26), 9. Miller (4:33.41), 14. O’Neill (4:35.42); 16. Stirton (4:40.96); 200 IM – 1. Farra (1:48.94), 4. Phillips (1:52.39), 5. Mudd (1:52.55), 6. Savonen (1:52.58), 8. Seleskie (1:53.70); 50 free – 6. Fahrbach (20.77), 8. Schnur (21.05), 13. Birnbrich (21.07); 400 medley relay – 1. Elliott, Farra, Lee, Phillips (3:15.75).