April 12, 2019

Buckeyes Host Big Ten Double Dual on Saturday



Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

2019 Schedule| 2018 Roster| 2019 Boat Results

Big Ten Double Dual Race Schedule| Parking Map


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State rowing team will race on familiar waters this weekend, facing Michigan and Michigan State on Saturday at Griggs Reservoir in the Big Ten Double Dual. Rutgers will also be present, racing against Michigan and Michigan State. Racing is scheduled to start at 9:00 a.m.

The regatta is one of two that the Buckeyes will be racing at home. The next home race will be on May 4 against Texas.

Boats will travel north to south on the Scioto River. The finish line, where most spectators gather to watch the event, is located off Riverside Drive, just north of Fishinger Road, where parking is available.



Michigan comes to Columbus ranked No. 5 in the latest edition of the CRCA/US Rowing Coaches poll and Michigan State is receiving votes in the poll. At the 2018 Big Ten Championships Michigan finished in second behind the Buckeyes with 163 points and Michigan State finished in eighth.



A total of 49 members of the Ohio State rowing program were named Ohio State Scholar-Athletes at the annual Scholar-Athlete Dinner on Wednesday night. Senior Sierra Cydrus (health promotion, nutrition, & exercise science) has earned the distinction all four years of her academic career at Ohio State. Twenty-five other rowers are first-time recipients of the Scholar-Athlete distinction.

Senior awards were also given out at the event, with senior Madison Sheahan receiving the M/I Homes Foundation Award. The award was one of the first designed specifically to recognize and promote women’s achievements in intercollegiate athletics at Ohio State. It provides an outstanding female scholar-athlete $5,000 for postgraduate studies at Ohio State.



Race results will be posted to the Ohio State rowing Twitter, @OhioStateWROW. Races will also be streamed on the Ohio State rowing Facebook page at www.facebook.com/OhioStateWRow/.



1V8: Fernandes (C), Nothdurft, Montesano, Heuer, Petersen, Vermeer, Cydrus, Tiede, Libben

2v8: Blair (C), Bravo, Carr, Cymanski, Perrett, Binkley, DeWitte, Nordhaus, Cannon

1v4: Massier, Frendberg, Hatton, Flinders, Batchu (C)

2v4: Sellers, Harper, Kwiecinski, Boomer, Morrison (C)

3v4: Wahlers, Kuntzman, Robinson, Fishel, Stainbrook (C)

1N8: Beltz (C), Draycott, Moore, McNutt, Pabst, Oberhaus, Pohl, Clouse, Olechiw


*Subject to change