February 27, 2018

Buckeyes Head to The Garden for Big Ten Tournament


Feb. 27, 2018

No. 2 Seed Ohio State Buckeyes (24-7) vs. No. 10 Northwestern (15-16)/No. 7 Penn State (19-12)

Date: March 2, 2018
Site: Madison Square Garden (20,789)
Game Time: 6:30 p.m. ET
Television: BTN
Talent: Gus Johnson (Play-By-Play)
Bill Raftery (Expert Analysis)
Rick Pizzo (Sideline)
Radio: OSU-IMG Sports Network (63 stations)
Satellite Radio: Sirius 134/XM 195
Local Radio: WBNS-FM 97.1 The Fan, AM-1460
Radio Talent: Paul Keels (Play-By-Play)
Ron Stokes (Expert Analysis)

Ohio State Big Ten Award Winners, 2018
Ohio State redshirt junior forward Keita Bates-Diop was named the 2018 Big Ten Conference Player of the Year (coaches, media) as well as a 2018 First Team All-Big Ten honoree by both the league coaches and media Monday. Bates-Diop led the Buckeyes to a 24-7 overall record and a 15-3 mark in the Big Ten regular season. Bates-Diop averaged 19.2 points and 8.9 rebounds over 31 games. He is the sixth Ohio State player to be named the Big Ten Player of the Year. Buckeyes have claimed the honor a total of seven times. Jim Jackson is Ohio State’s only two-time winner (1991, 1992). Evan Turner last claimed the honor in 2010. Ohio State’s last first team All-Big Ten honoree was D’Angelo Russell at the guard position in 2015.
Ohio State’s Big Ten Players of the Year
1987 Dennis Hopson
1991 Jim Jackson
1992 Jim Jackson
1999 Scoonie Penn
2006 Terence Dials
2010 Evan Turner
2018 Keita Bates-Diop
* Chris Holtmann, head coach of the Buckeyes, was named the league’s coach of the year in his first season in Columbus (coaches, media). He has earned top honors in each of three conferences in which he has coached during his seven-year career. He was the 2013 Big South COY at Gardner-Webb and the Big East COY in 2017 while leading the Butler Bulldogs. Holtmann led the Buckeyes to the most wins under a first-year Ohio State coach and to the highest finish in the Big Ten regular season (2nd) of any previous Ohio State coach in his first season in Columbus.
Ohio State’s Big Ten Coaches of the Year
1983 Eldon Miller
1991 Randy Ayers
1992 Randy Ayers
1999 Jim O’Brien
2001 Jim O’Brien
2006 Thad Matta
2007 Thad Matta
2010 Thad Matta
2018 Chris Holtmann
* Jae’Sean Tate was named second team All-Big Ten by the league coaches and to the honorable mention team by the league media. Tate averaged 12.5 points a game this season in 31 starts. He added 6.2 rebounds and connected on 56 percent of his shots from the field (159-284).
* Kaleb Wesson was named to the 2018 All-Big Ten Freshman Team by the league coaches. He started 27 games for the Buckeyes and averaged 11 points and 5.2 rebounds. He shot 57.5 percent from the field (115-200) and went to the free throw line a team-high 132 times, making 96 (.727). He also was second on the team in blocks with 21.
* Andrew Dakich was named the Ohio State 2017-18 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree. A fifth-year transfer from Michigan playing his only season in Columbus, Dakich appeared in all 31 games, starting one. He averaged 18.4 minutes per game and handed out 66 assists while recording 26 steals.

Ohio State Big Ten Tournament History
The No. 2 seed in the 2018 Big Ten Tournament, the Buckeyes are 26-13 all-time in BTT play since the event began in 1998. Ohio State has won 23 of its last 32 league tournament games, including 15 of the last 20. By seed, Ohio State is 11-2 as No. 1, 3-0 as No. 2, 2-1 as No. 3, 4-3 as No. 5, 2-2 as No. 6, 1-1 as No. 7, 3-1 as No. 8, 0-1 as No. 9 and 0-2 as No. 11. Ohio State has entered the tournament as the No. 1 seed five times (2000, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011). Ohio State has four titles (2007, 2010, 2011, 2013) and eight title game appearances (2003, 2006, 2009, 2012). The Buckeyes, 12-5 in BTT openers, have been seeded higher in 23 BTT games all-time and are 20-3 in those games. As the lower seed, the Buckeyes are 6-10 all-time. Seven of the Buckeyes’ opening games in the last 13 years have been decided by six or fewer points, all Ohio State wins.

For more on the Buckeyes, click on the Ohio State Notes link above.