November 15, 2018

Buckeyes Get Off To A Fast Start At Ohio State Invitational


Thursday Results

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 11 men’s and No. 23 women’s Ohio State swimming & diving team began the Ohio State Invitational in a hurry, posting the team’s fastest times of the season yet. 71 swimmers achieved season-best times, 13 of which recorded NCAA “B” cuts or zone qualifying scores. The men’s relay teams were especially dominant, winning out in both the 200 Free Relay (1:18.80) and the 400 Medley Relay (3:11.04).

After the first six events, the Ohio State men are comfortably in first place with a total of 767 points, 196 points head of No. 21 Notre Dame. The women sit in third with 535 points, behind No. 3 Stanford and No. 14 Notre Dame.

• The women’s 200 Free Relay team of Taylor Petrak, Rebekah Bradley, Maria Coy and Amanda Palutsis took third with a season-best time of 1:30.09. Palutsis joined the 200 Free Relay for the first time this season.
• In the 500 Free, Molly Kowal finished 10th in the A Final with a time of 4:46.58. Mikayla Murphy was second in the C Final with a time of 4:47.61, dropping 2.04 off her season-best. Kerrigan Vargo followed in third at 4:48.34. Sally Tafuto won the D Final with a career-best time of 4:49.25.
• Kathrin Demler finished fourth in the 200 IM A Final, finishing with a season-best time of 1:57.27. Kristen Romano won the 200 IM D Final with a time of 2:00.90, her best of the season yet and 3.64 seconds faster than her prelim time.
• Petrak was fourth in the 50 Free A Final, taking over the team lead with a season-best time of 22.59. Coy finished sixth with the next-fastest time on the team at 22.68, and Bradley finished close behind in seventh at 22.69. Marianne Kahmann won the D Final with a time of 23.41, marking a season-best.
• Bradley, Gresser, Demler and Petrak achieved a team-best 400 Medley Relay time of 3:36.80, shaving 4.83 seconds off their entry time.

•The men got off to a hot start, winning the 200 Free Relay with a new season-best time of 1:18.80, beating out the Kentucky relay team by .05. Ruslan Gaziev, Sem Andreis, Kalvin Koethke and Mossimo Chavez made up the winning squad.
• Nick Hogsed finished fourth in the 500 Free A Final, clocking in at 4:24.15. Austin Mortimer was ninth with a time of 4:30.65.
• Andrew Loy swam a team-best time of 1:45.86 in the 200 IM, taking fifth place in the A Final. Paul DeLakis followed in ninth, finishing with a time of 1:48.98. Daniel Gloude won the C Final, clocking in at a season-best time of 1:48.56, and Trey Gribble won the D Final with atime of 1:49.62.
• Gaziev swam a 50 Free time of 19.79, claiming third in the A Final. Andreis was sixth at 19.97, Koethke finished seventh at 20.09 and Chavez took 10th with a time of 20.32. Teo Chavez went on a tear, finishing first in the B Final with a time of 19.91 and claiming the second-fastest time on the team.
• In the 400 Medley Relay, Ben Sugar, Jason Mathews, Michael Salazar and Gaziev beat out Notre Dame with a season-best time of 3:11.04. That time is second in the nation only to the Big Ten team from the ACC/Big Ten Challenge.

• All five Buckeyes finished in the Top 10 on the 1-Meter board, with Aaron Daniels-Freeman leading the way in second with a score of 373.90. Jacob Fielding was third (371.05), Christo Law finished fourth (360.30), Jacob Siler took sixth (334.25) and Joseph Canova rounded out the effort with an eighth place finish at 292.75.
• Genevieve Angerame was the top diver on the 3-Meter board, taking fourth with a score of 294.30.

Competition resumes tomorrow at 10 a.m. at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.