April 13, 2017

Buckeyes Flex Muscle 💪 in All-MIVA Selections


April 13, 2017


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 2017 Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association Coach of the Year and Player of the Year are repeat performers as both Pete Hanson and Nicolas Szerszen are bringing the hardware back to Columbus for the second straight season. Hanson becomes a 13-time recipient of the conference recognition while Szerszen becomes the fourth Buckeye to earn the award in back-to-back seasons. In total, six OSU student-athletes received All-MIVA recognition from the conference’s nine head coaches. Szerszen is joined on the All-MIVA First Team by Christy Blough and Miles Johnson while Gabriel Domecus and Driss Guessous picked up Second Team honors and Maxime Hervoir was an Honorable Mention.

Eighteen different Buckeyes have been named MIVA Player of the Year a total of 22 times. Hanson is one of seven OSU leaders voted as the league’s Coach of the Year, a group totaling 23 awards overall.

1988, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 (co), 2011, 2016 and 2017

Christy Blough | 2016-17 (First Team), 2015 (Second Team)
Gabriel Domecus | 2016-17 (Second Team)
Driss Guessous | 2017 (Second Team), 2014 (First Team), 2014 Freshman of the Year
Miles Johnson | 2016-17 (First Team), 2015 (Second Team)
Nicolas Szerszen | 2015-17 (First Team), 2016-17 Player of the Year, 2015 Freshman of the Year

Player of the Year: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Coach of the Year: Pete Hanson, Ohio State
Co-Freshmen Of the Year: Ryan Coenen, Lewis & Matt Szews, Ball State

All-MIVA First Team
Matt Szews, Ball State
Matt Walsh, Ball State
Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Mitch Perinar, Lewis
Michael Simmons, Lewis
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis
Jeff Jendryk, Loyola (Ill.)
Christy Blough, Ohio State
Miles Johnson, Ohio State
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State

All-MIVA Second Team
Connor Gross, Ball State
Cullen Mosher, Grand Canyon
Drake Silbernagel, Grand Canyon
Ben Plaisted, Loyola (Ill.)
Collin Mahan, Loyola (Ill.)
Wyatt Patterson, McKendree
Maalik Walker, McKendree
Gabriel Domecus, Ohio State
Driss Guessous, Ohio State
Jarrod Kelso, Quincy

All-MIVA Honorable Mention
Brendan Surane, Ball State
Pelegrin Vargas, Fort Wayne
Sky Engleman, Grand Canyon
Michael Milstein, Grand Canyon
Jacob Schmiegelt, Lewis
Connor Hipelius, Lindenwood
Sam Schindler, Lindenwood
Pasquale Fiduccia, McKendree
Brendan Schmidt, McKendree
Maxime Hervoir, Ohio State