September 16, 2019

Buckeyes Excited for Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame Classic



Ticket Info | 2019-20 Schedule | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 2019-20 season-opener for the Ohio State women’s basketball team will offer a unique opportunity for not only the talented young Buckeyes who will be on the court for the first time, but for basketball fans across Ohio as well.

Ohio State will take on Valparaiso on Sunday, Nov. 10 at 2 p.m. in the inaugural Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame Classic. The game will be hosted by Wittenberg University at the Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio.

“We have a young and exciting team and we’re really looking forward to getting the season started at the Hall of Fame Classic,” said Ohio State head coach Kevin McGuff. “Playing the game in Springfield will provide a unique experience for our players and will give us a chance to connect with our fans in a different environment. This is also a great opportunity to honor those individuals who have made a significant impact on basketball in Ohio.”

The Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame, which was founding in 2005, aims to recognize and tell the stories of the amazing athletes and contributors to the game that have either come from or played in Ohio.

“The Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame is sharing the stories of our state’s greatest basketball legends – the extraordinary athletes, coaches, officials, and contributors who’ve made an impact on the game in Ohio. We’re working to preserve this fascinating history for future generations. The Hall of Fame Classic provides us with a platform to tell their stories to today’s athletes and fans,” said Sheila Fox, Executive Director.

Over 200 individuals have been inducted since the hall’s inception including 45 Ohio State graduates and two more will be enshrined next summer. There are currently 11 OSU women’s basketball players in the hall with June Brewer Daugherty and Caity Matter joining the group in 2020.

Wittenberg University is hosting the game on Nov. 10, and tickets can be purchased through Wittenberg. This will be just the second meeting all time between Ohio State and Valparaiso as the Buckeyes won 84-60 in the 2000 Great Alaska Shootout.

Complete list of Ohio State Alumni in the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame

Marcie Alberts
Gary Bradds
June Brewer Daugherty (2020)
Jay Burson
David Butcher
Vince Chickerella
Jim Cleamons
Lisa Cline
Jessica Davenport
Tippy Dye
Paul Ebert, MD
Robin Freeman
Tracey Hall Yarbrough
John Havlicek
Dennis Hopson
Allan Hornyak
Bill Hosket, Jr.
Bill Hosket, Sr.
Frank Howard
Jimmy Hull
Jimmy Jackson
Neil Johnston
John Joseph
Clark Kellogg
Ronald Knight (Official)
Bob Knight
Jantel Lavender
Jerry Lucas
Caity Matter (2020)
Gene Millard
John Miner
Cindy Noble Hauserman
Laurie Pirtle
Kelvin Ransey
Michael Redd
Toni Roesc
Jodi Roth Korbas
Dick Schnittker
Larry Siegfried
Katie Smith
Dave Sorenson
LW St. John
Marlene Stollings
Fred Taylor
Craig Taylor
Amy Tucker
Herb Williams