COLUMBUS, Ohio — Special things took place on Day 1 of the Winter Invitational for the Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team. Five Buckeyes finished with NCAA “B” qualifying times Saturday in a meet that included swimmers from Michigan, Purdue and Indiana at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. The meet will resume Sunday at 4 p.m. Admission is free.

Ohio State’s “B” qualifiers included: senior Alex Chen, junior Michael Hulme, junior Bobby Jenrow, sophomore Matt Baumann and freshman Zach Holmes.

“It’s a big deal to have four of our guys qualifying for national times,” head coach Bill Wadley said. “It reflects well on our team and it’s great that they can get the experience. We’re very proud and excited.”

They should be. The Buckeyes won four out of seven events overall. Chen kicked off the finals in Day 1 by winning the 500 freestyle with time of 4:27.75. Hulme followed suit in the 400 IM, timing in at 3:53.93 and fellow teammate Jenrow came in third in 3:55.27. Holmes was the next Buckeyes to capture a win in the 100 freestyle in 44.37.

Ohio State closed the day by taking first in the 200 freestyle relay. The team, composed of Zach Holmes, Zach Birnbrich, Steven Springer and Duncan De Wet, were also national qualifiers with a “B” cut time of 1:21.18.

Men’s Swimming and Diving

OSU Winter Invite

Saturday, Feb. 13, 2010

Columbus, Ohio

McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion

No Team Scoring. Ohio State Event Winners:
500 freestyle – Alex Chen (4:27.75); 400 individual medley –  Michael Hulme (3:53.93); 100 freestyle – Zach Holmes (44.37); 200 freestyle relay –  Holmes, Birnbrich, Springer, De Wet (1:21.18).