May 2, 2022

Buckeyes Earn No. 10 Seed, Set to Host NCAA Matches


NCAA Bracket

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 2022 Big Ten regular season champion Ohio State women’s tennis team is the No. 10 seed in the 2022 NCAA Championship and will host first and second round matches this weekend at the Auer Tennis Complex.

The Buckeyes are 20-5 overall and have won 11 of their last 12 matches, with the lone loss to No. 20 Michigan in the final of the Big Ten Tournament Sunday. Ohio State was 11-0 in Big Ten play to earn the outright title.

Ohio State will face Illinois State, the Missouri Valley Conference champion, with the other first-round matchup Xavier, the Big East champion, taking on Vanderbilt, an at-large selection out of the SEC. The winner of the Columbus site will advance to a single-elimination super regional on a campus site. Illinois will host the final three rounds of the tournament in Champaign, Ill.

The first round matches in Columbus will be Saturday, with the Musketeers and Commodores meeting at 10 a.m., followed by the Buckeyes and Redbirds at 1 p.m. The first round winners will meet at noon Sunday for a spot in the Round of 16. Ohio State is a dual gender NCAA site. The Buckeye men will host first round matches at 10 a.m. (Columbia vs. Notre Dame) and 1 p.m. Friday (Ohio State vs. Youngstown State) and their second round match at 4 p.m. Saturday.

Matches are set to be played outside at the Auer Tennis Complex. In the event of inclement weather, play will be moved inside the Ty Tucker Tennis Center. Check and the Ohio State women’s tennis social media accounts on match day for location information. Admission and parking will be free for all NCAA matches in Columbus. Live scoring and video, through the Tennis One app, will be available for all matches.

The Buckeyes will be making the eighth consecutive and 18th overall NCAA Tournament appearance in program history. The team also hosted in 2016, 2017 and 2021 and is 6-0 at home in NCAA action, including wins over UIC and Vanderbilt last season. The Buckeyes’ first NCAA appearance was in 1996. The squad qualified six years in a row from 1999-04, had a three-year stretch from 2008-10 and began the most recent streak in 2014, with no tournament held in 2020.

The Buckeyes are 4-0 all-time vs. Illinois State (with the last match in 2000), 4-0 vs. Xavier, including a win earlier this season, and 5-1 all-time against Vanderbilt. Ohio State and the Commodores met in the second round in Columbus last year, with the Buckeyes prevailing, 4-3. It was the first match between the teams in NCAA action; Ohio State played on Vanderbilt’s home courts in three NCAA tournaments (2015, 2018, 2019) but the teams did not face off in the postseason in Nashville.

Ohio State is one of three Big Ten teams in the NCAA field, with Michigan and Northwestern both at-large selections.

Ohio State Buckeyes