Aug. 18, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s lacrosse team is one of 85 Division I women’s lacrosse programs to be named an Academic Honor Squad by the IWLCA for the 2015 season. The honor is bestowed upon any team who has a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.0 or higher for the academic year.

But this isn’t the first time the team has been recognized for their performance in the classroom. In May, the team placed 19 student-athletes on the academic All-Big Ten list for having a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, the most of any spring sport at Ohio State.

Then in July, nine Buckeyes were named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for having at least a 3.7 GPA in the previous academic year, also the most of any Ohio State sport.

On the field, Ohio State finished the season 13-8 overall, advanced to the NCAA tournament for the second consecutive season and the fourth time in program history. The 13 wins tied for the second-most wins in school history with the 2014 team. The Buckeyes also advanced to the Big Ten tournament championship game after recording arguably the biggest win in program history in the tournament semifinals, knocking off No. 1-ranked and previously undefeated Maryland, 11-10.