July 27, 2016

Buckeyes Earn IWLCA Academic Honor


July 27, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s lacrosse team is one of 92 Division I women’s lacrosse programs to be named an Academic Honor Squad by the IWLCA for the 2016 season. The honor is bestowed upon any team who has a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.0 or higher for the academic year.

Earlier this month, four Buckeyes – Morgan Castelein, Christine Easton, Kelsey Gallagher and Rainey Hodgson – were named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for having at least a 3.7 GPA in the previous academic year.

And prior to that in June, the team placed 16 student-athletes on the academic All-Big Ten list for having a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, the third most of any spring sport at Ohio State.

In April, 21 Buckeyes were named Ohio State scholar athletes for posting at least a 3.0 GPA during the academic year.

On the field, the Buckeyes enjoyed another terrific season under head coach Alexis Venechanos, posting double-digit wins for the third consecutive season – a first for the program. Ohio State also set program records with its 11-1 start to the season, a nine-game winning streak and a No. 8 Top 20 ranking in the Inside Lacrosse poll. The senior class recorded 45 wins over the last four years, tying for the most all-time with the 2015 seniors.