February 23, 2018

Buckeyes Earn Five All-WCHA Team Honors


Feb. 23, 2018

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram2017-18 Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The honors continue to roll in for the Ohio State University women’s ice team as the 2017-18 squad has five honorees among the All-Western Collegiate Hockey Association teams of the year, conference officials announced on Friday.

For the first time in program history five different All-WCHA Team honors have been bestowed upon Buckeyes in the same season. Both the 2006-07 and 2007-08 teams that had four honorees each held the previous record for All-WCHA Team distinctions.

Emma Maltais and Jincy Dunne earned All-WCHA First Team honors, marking the first time since 2012 that the Buckeyes have any players on the All-WCHA First Team, and the first time since 2008 that multiple players appeared on the list. Maltais leads the conference with 38 points, and her 24 assists rank second in the league. Dunne has played stellar defense all year, helping lead the Buckeyes to the winningest season in program history. The defenseman has tallied 23 points on the year, with 21 coming from assists. She ranks third in the conference in assists.

For the second consecutive year Kassidy Sauvé has been named to the All-WCHA Second Team. Following an outstanding campaign in the 2016-17 season, Sauvé came into this season wanting to prove that last season was no fluke. With five WCHA Defensive Player of the Week wins, two NCAA No. 1 Star of the Week wins, the all-time program records for both shutouts and saves, and a WCHA Goaltender of the Month win, it’s safe to say that Sauvé has solidified her position as one of the best goaltenders in the nation. Her stats back it up, she leads the WCHA with 849 saves, and ranks second in shutouts with nine. Both of those totals are good for third nationally.

When you lead the nation’s best conference in goals, you’re going to attract some attention, and that’s exactly what Tatum Skaggs has done this year. The All-WCHA Third Team honoree leads the conference with 21 goals, and her 35 points are tied for second behind Maltais. “These girls are very deserving of these distinctions,” OSU Head Coach Nadine Muzerall said. “They have proven that they are elite and can compete with the best in the nation. We’re lucky to have them here in the Scarlet and Gray.”

The WCHA also announced its All-Academic Team on Friday. To qualify student-athletes must have completed one year of eligibility at present institution, prior to the current academic year and have a GPA of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters.

This year’s Buckeyes on the WCHA All-Academic team are Samantha Bouley, Lauren Boyle, Charly Dahlquist, Jincy Dunne, Maddy Field, Rebecca Freiburger, Julianna Iafallo, Jacyn Reeves, Elise Riemenschneider, Dani Sadek, Kassidy Sauvé, Olivia Soares, and Lauren Spring.

The Buckeyes open their post-season run later today when they host Minnesota State. Game one in the best of three series gets underway at 6:07 p.m. tonight in the OSU Ice Rink. Admission and parking are free for all attendees.