COLUMBUS, Ohio – Behind wins from a quartet of Buckeyes in Bo Touris, Colt Sponseller, Nick Heflin, and C.J. Magrum, the Ohio State wrestling team scored 12 points, but dropped a 21-12 decision at No. 19 Illinois Friday night in Huff Hall.

The Buckeyes (2-8; 1-4 Big Ten) will now promptly prepare for a home dual vs. No. 4 Minnesota at 7 p.m. Saturday in St. John Arena in Columbus. The match will air live on the Big Ten Network.  

The bout began at 174 pounds where Heflin helped the Scarlet and Gray jump out to an early 3-0 lead. Thanks to a third-period escape, Heflin earned his 17th win of the season, this time over Dan Stelter.

Magrum recorded a 3-1 win at 184 pounds over Tony Dallago. Following a scoreless first period, Magrum took a 1-0 lead on an escape in the second stanza. Dallago answered with an escape of his own in the third, but Magrum countered with a takedown at the 1:30 mark to earn the win.

After consecutive losses at 197 pounds and heavyweight, Touris earned an 11-6 win at 125 pounds vs. Logan Arlis. Touris owned 6-4 and 8-6 leads at the conclusion of the first and second periods and secured his first Big Ten win of the season in the third thanks to a takedown and a riding time of 2:19.    

Finally, Sponseller wrapped up the evening with a 3-2 victory over Conrad Polz at 165 pounds. Riding time of 1:31 proved to be the difference maker for Sponseller as both wrestlers were tied at 2-all throughout most of the third period. Polz scored an early takedown in the first period, but escapes by Sponseller in the first and third periods helped him towards victory. 

Ohio State 12, No. 19 Illinois 21
Feb. 4, 2011
Huff Hall
Champaign, Ill.

Individual Matches
125 Bo Touris (Ohio State)  DEC Logan Arlis (Illinois), 11 – 6
133 Bernard Futrell (Illinois)  MD Ian Paddock (Ohio State), 16 – 6
141 James Kennedy (Illinois)  MD Randy Languis (Ohio State), 13 – 4
149 Eric Terrazas (Illinois)  DEC Mike Fee (Ohio State), 8 – 2
157 Jackson Morse (Illinois)  MD Kusar, Jared (Ohio State), 16 – 5
165 Colt Sponseller (Ohio State) DEC Conrad Polz (Illinois), 3 – 2
174 Nick Heflin (Ohio State)  DEC Dan Stelter (Illinois), 1 – 0
184 C.J. Magrum (Ohio State) DEC Tony Dallago (Illinois), 3 – 1
197 Joseph Barczak (Illinois)  DEC Peter Capone (Ohio State), 9 – 3
285 Patrick Walker (Illinois)  DEC Zach Stolarsky (Ohio State), 8 – 4